12提示监测儿童社会化媒体

使用社交媒体正在崛起,它被发现在一个研究中,大约有22%的青少年登录到自己喜爱的网站社交媒体每天十次,大约75%的人拥有一部手机。有了这样的高敬业度有多个风险包括网络欺凌的,“Facebook的忧郁”(这是新的现象,即“去邀请好友”,而网络欺凌可导致症状的抑郁症),性短信和接触到不适当的内容。

kids and computer

没有未成年人上Facebook

你知道的事实,没有谁是未满13岁的被允许加入Facebook?但问题是,Facebook并没有办法去执行完全,因为人们可以谎称自己的年龄。你应该确保你的孩子不使用Facebook,直到他们13年,直到你为人父母习惯使用有一个Facebook帐户您的孩子。一定程度上像报告未成年的孩子,确实存在,但最终母公司有关于有一个帐户或不是孩子的发言权。

儿童隐私设置

你应该检查你必须设置严格的水平Facebook和互联网隐私设置。您可以从选项卡调整设置,这取决于您所使用的浏览器。您也可以调整Cookie设置,设置第三方网站等等。这样做将保护计算机用户以及某些威胁,如病毒您的计算机。这也很容易检查你的Facebook的隐私设置。你可以简单地去了Facebook的隐私页面,以确保你了解了Facebook的隐私政策,并提出要任何更改。

使用过滤软件

您可以以监视你的孩子的互联网使用购买不同的软件套装。许多这样的软件套装让你知道哪些是准确的输入键,这是在网上度过,而所有普通计算机活动的时间。像PureSight PC和网络保姆受欢迎的节目,您可以监控不同的社交媒体网站,内容过滤,阻止聊天和更多。甚至有软件名为我的手机看门狗,通过它可以监视你的孩子的手机。

创建基本规则

你认为你的孩子现在已经长大了,他可以使用电脑。那么在这种情况下,他或她是理解的事实,他们应该遵守的规则不够老。而如果违反这些规则应该有一个平等的后果,如果他们打破现实世界的规则。同意的基本规则家庭最好的办法是让所有各方应签订合同。家长和孩子们感到鼓舞的家庭在线安全协会(FOSI)有关于规则及其含义公开讨论,在这里我院还开设了这样的合同非常好的例子。

了解你的孩子的生活习惯

有没有必要为你要对你的孩子的每一个网上招间谍和超级侦探,但重要的是,你是知道的网站,你的孩子互访频繁,并要知道谁是你的孩子是相关联的人。就像你想知道你的孩子在学校的朋友,你应该知道他们的网上朋友。合同里的一个重要的规则应该是,您具有完全访问你的孩子的Facebook的朋友,你应该能够有,只要你想看看。

使计算机处于中央位置

其对在线活动的检查是很容易当计算机被放置在人流量大的区域进行比较,如果孩子在他或她的房间的私密性使用电脑。你应该将计算机中的一些中央位置,如家庭居室或厨房,这样无论您的孩子在网上做的是在开放的。

督促孩子,避免了问卷调查,竞赛和免费赠品

突然有弹出式广告出现并且告诉你的孩子,他们可以通过点击链接赢取免费一的iPod。当然,任何人都会被这样的提议,尤其是孩子们受到诱惑。因此,您警告你的孩子对连续下跌等互联网的技巧是非常重要的。许多这样的诡计是简单地尝试获取个人信息。告诉大家,即使他们得到的乐趣问卷调查,从他们的朋友你的孩子,这是最好的,他们只是关闭窗口,避免参与

监控照片,你的孩子的帖子在网上

在理想的世界里,孩子们将不会发布自己的照片在网上,但它并不完全切合实际。如果您的孩子想通过社交网络网站或电子邮件中的朋友分享她的照片,请确保您都知道了的照片,你的孩子的职位。确保照片的内容被张贴是完全无害的,并且没有在后台识别的语言环境是可以识别的。

是社会化媒体应如何使用一个很好的例子

如果你正在更新的Facebook页面或啁啾在红绿灯或利用一切机会,你必须检查的东西,你肯定创下了极坏的先例,社交媒体的使用和您的孩子将遵循。始终记得问自己,你设置好榜样,并展示了技术的正确礼仪。

限制使用手机

正如你将限制使用的电视,游戏系统或电脑,你可以做相同的手机。您可以设置一些规则的使用手机,只允许手机在某些时段的使用在晚上或在完成作业后。如果你有孩子谁在驾驶年龄,最重要的强制执行的规则是,开车时手机不应该被使用。这款手机应该关闭,使来电或文字的声音不会分散或他们应该被关在杂物箱,他们是遥不可及。

谈谈你的孩子有关网上的危险

你可能会觉得你是告诉他们网上的危险吓唬孩子,但它是更好的为您的孩子被吓的网上的危险,然后留下来不知道他们。关键是要具有与您的孩子开始使用互联网独立的分开放的沟通。一位著名的隐私和网络安全专家,佩里阿夫塔卜谁是WiredSafety执行主任问那是谁的陌生人网上的问题?那么大家!请一定要提醒你的孩子,所有的人在网上都是陌生人因此标准规定应始终施工。

结识科技

孩子们也很快获得了最新技术的掌握和他们可以轻松地了解哪些新玩意有细微差别,更容易比我们在许多情况下。这是每一位家长的责任,要注意的是包含在小工具,孩子们使用的主要功能。据斯蒂芬Balkam谁是家庭在线安全协会的创办人兼总裁,这可以是一个震撼人心的经验。你可能会发现,你没有任何想法,索尼的Playstation,你买了你最后的圣诞节过的便携式网络浏览器也是如此。或者说,你五岁的孩子创造网上化身的企鹅俱乐部,他经常去的在世界的比萨企鹅朋友,他有。

12 Tips for Monitoring Kid’s Social Media

, , , , , , , , ,

The use of social media is on the rise and it was found in a study that about 22% of the teenagers log on to their favorite sites of social media more than ten times daily and about 75% of them own a cell phone.  With such high engagement levels there are multiple risks including that of cyber bullying, “Facebook depression” (it is new phenomenon in which “de-friending” and the online bullying can lead to the depression symptoms), sexting and exposure to the inappropriate content.

kids and computer

No Underage Facebooking

Are you aware of the fact that no one who is under 13 years of age is allowed to join Facebook? But the problem is that Facebook does not have a way to enforce it totally, because people can lie about their age. You should make sure that your kids do not use Facebook until they are 13 years AND until you being a parent are comfortable with your child having a Facebook account. Some measure like reporting underage child, do exist but ultimately the parent should have the say about the child having an account or not.

Child Privacy Settings

You should check that you have the Facebook and internet privacy settings set to strictest levels. You may adjust settings from options tab, depending on the browser that you are using. You can also adjust the cookies settings, settings for third party sites and much more. Doing so will protect the computer user as well as your computer from certain threats like viruses. It is also very easy to check the privacy settings of your Facebook. You can simply go to the Facebook privacy page in order to make sure that you are aware of the privacy policy of Facebook and to make any changes which you want.

Use the Filtering Software

You can purchase different software suits in order to monitor the internet usage of your child. Many of such software suits allow you to know exact keys which were typed, the time that was spend online and all the general computer activity. Popular programs like PureSight PC and Net Nanny allow you to monitor different social media websites, filter content, block chats and a lot more. There is even software named My Mobile Watchdog by which you can monitor the cell phone of your child.

Create the Ground Rules

Do you think that your child is now old enough that he can use a computer. Well in that case he or she is old enough for understanding the fact that they should abide by rules. And breaking these rules should have an equal consequence to if they break a rule in offline world. Best way of agreeing to the ground rules for families is to make a contract which all parties should sign. Parents and the kids are encouraged by the Family Online Safety Institute (FOSI) to have open discussions about the rules and their meanings, and here the institute also offers very good example of such a contract.

Get to know the habits of your child

There is no need for you to be a spy and super sleuth on each online move of your kid, but it’s important that you are aware of websites which your kid visits frequently and to be aware of the people who your kid is associating with. Just like you want to know the friends which your kid has in school, you should be aware of their online friends. An important rule of contract should be, you having the full access to the Facebook friends of your kid and you should be able to have a look whenever you want.

Keep the computer in a central location

Having a check on the online activity is much easier when the computer is placed in high traffic zone compared to if the child uses the computer in privacy of his or her room. You should place the computer in some central location such as family room or kitchen so that whatever your child is doing online is out in open.

Urge the kids to avoid the questionnaires, contests and free giveaways

Suddenly one pop-up ad shows up and tells your kid that they can win free a iPod simply by clicking link. Of course, anyone will get tempted by such offer, particularly the kids. So it is important that you warn your child against falling for such internet tricks. Many such ruses are simply attempts to get the personal information. Tell your kids that even if they receive fun questionnaires from their friends, it is best that they simply close window and avoid participating

Monitor the photos which your child posts online

In the ideal world, kids won’t post photos of themselves online, but it’s not entirely realistic. In case your child wants to share her photos with the friends via social network websites or email, make sure that you are aware of the photos that your child posts. Ensure that content of photos being posted is totally innocuous and that none of the identifiable locales in background are identifiable.

Be a good example of how social media should be used

In case you are updating Facebook page or tweeting at stop light or taking every opportunity you have to check something, you are surely setting a very bad precedent for usage of social media and your child will follow that. Always remember asking yourself that are you setting good example and are demonstrating proper etiquettes of technology.

Limit the use of cell phone

As you will limit the use of TV, gaming system or a computer, you may do same with cell phone. You can set some rules for use of cell phone, only allowing the usage of cell phone at certain hours in evenings or after finishing the homework. In case you have children who are at driving age, most important of the rules to enforce is that cell phones should never be used when driving. The phone should be off so that the sound of incoming calls or texts doesn’t distract or they should be kept in glove compartment where they are out of reach.

Talk to your kids about the online dangers

You might feel that you are scaring the kids by telling them online dangers, but it’s much better for your kids to be scared of the online dangers then to stay unaware of them. It is crucial to have open communication from the minute that your kid starts using internet independently. A noted privacy and online safety expert, Perry Aftab who is the Executive Director of the WiredSafety asks the question that who is stranger online? Well everyone is! Make sure to remind your child that all the people online are strangers so standard rules should always be applied.

Get to know Technology

The kids have quickly gained mastery of the latest technologies and they can easily understand the nuances which new gadgets have, much more easily than us in many cases. It is the responsibility of every parent to be aware of the key features that are included in gadgets that the kids use. According to Stephen Balkam who is the founding CEO of Family Online Safety Institute, It can be one humbling experience. You might find that you did not have any idea that Sony Playstation Portable which you bought for your last Christmas had web browser as well. Or that your five years old child has created online avatar on the Club Penguin and he regularly goes for the in-world pizza with the penguin friends he has.