如何窥探你的孩子在线

为什么要监视手机和电脑用的孩子,当一个人通常知道在哪里的孩子们每天都与他们的,而且他们在做什么。那么,在数字世界中,即使是最小的孩子这几天都花了很多时间,我们经常还原为单纯的观众和我们大多数人的角色从个案数字挥鞭都晕晕。即使是小的孩子这几天能明白今天比我们更好的技术。

今天的孩子们才知道,原来是网络填补了世界。今天生活的每个方面都技术,通过它织成的。技术告诉我们的孩子,他们的教育,甚至他们的世界理解的友谊。在这里,我们都争着要弄清楚的规则制定和执法。

一个大问题是,这个主题是不包括在父母的剧本;本章还没有被写入,社会并没有作出任何的标准呢。还有就是驾驶年龄和饮酒年龄,但是没有传统观念存在关于年龄的孩子应该自己去网上或者他们应该被允许为文本他们的朋友的手机,或者什么样的作用,我们应该发挥作为父母。

kids and internet

美丽新世界

数字生活开始了蹒跚学步的婴儿早期,它加快了以光的速度。谁使用流行的迪斯尼网站ClubPenguin.com的孩子们有自己的替身,甚至在他们有他们的恒牙。有Wii的网络浏览功能和任天堂DS成为我们的孩子的喜怒哀乐。他们观看和欣赏YouTube上的视频,无意中发现的信息和知识,一切可以想象的宝库—在互联网上。在早期的日子里,妈妈们用来偷听孩子的电话交谈;但现在这么多的沟通那张漂亮的悄无声息,通过即时信息,电子邮件和文本。

我们担心我们的孩子,一些令人毛骨悚然的成年人可能对儿童和针对孩子和它的孩子们可能只是不经意间给了个人信息,使自己处于危险之中。还有许多其他的担忧了。孩子们互相在一个全新的水平沟通:他们可能会说一些关于或彼此在互联网上,他们永远不会说对方的人。当然这可能会导致网络欺凌,有毒八卦以及损坏声誉。孩子们还可能会认为图片和文字发布到网上是暂时的,但他们可能会保存人,并转发给任何人,任何人都可以看到。这些图像或文字可以在网上多年实践流连忘返。所键入文字信息的这句话看似无常,无害化可以真正改变生活。例如,在2007年一个男孩波蒂奇,印第安纳发送一些愤怒的文本,以他的前妻被捕。他威胁他的前女友,并在这些消息的另一个线程。如果他说,在她脸上的那些话,它可能不是一个大问题。但因为他们是数字信息,警钟开始响和警察参与进来。男孩没有被定罪,但费用要留在他的纪录,直到他18岁。

随着孩子的父母的观点之外发生的社会生活的数字部分,有必要对我们提出生硬的问题。父母必须保持密切的检查对他们的孩子在做什么。它变得相当尴尬,在这一部分,因为很多家长让动荡的刺探孩子数字的概念。

它是好密切留意孩子的数字行为?嗯,这要看什么程度不言而喻。

信任,但要核查

NURIT欣伯格谁是评估和研究的邮差西格尔研究所幼儿教育研究的诺瓦东南大学劳德代尔堡导演,佛罗里达州说,间谍活动,并负责监督之间的区别是,“抓把柄的因素”。如果你的孩子不知道你在监视他们,你最终找到之后就全力以赴什么“疑难杂症!”孩子们会感到震惊,他们可能会怨恨。他们可能会开始隐藏的东西。在决定什么样的,多少监督你要做的事情,让孩子知道后。

你的诚实是有利的:如果你的孩子知道你正在看着他们,你的孩子的自我监测的本能会踢(不要忘记,孩子们都在寻找周围的家长控制的方式真的很好 – 我们将揭示就可以了后者。)越光伟大的事情,你应该做的就是把电脑中的一些中心位置。目前密切关注的事情不仅仅是转悠,说的没有更好的办法“嘿,这网站是什么呢?”

是的,你应该信任孩子。但请记住,他们是孩子。单纯靠你的孩子的话可能不够好,以保证他们的安全。

所以,你应该问这样的问题:他们今天访问了哪些网站?谁?他们有沟通?试着保持积极的对话。如果你给的唯一信息是,“您正在使用电脑或平板电脑太多”或“别看这个网站”可以有张力,和孩子们将避免向你走来的情况下,他们看到的东西它搅得他们或混淆他们。

你应该定期检查,以确保你知道整个真相:使用浏览器的历史记录功能,看看哪些是最近访问过的网站,并看到了下载的东西。如果您想了解更详细的信息,请尝试使用监控软件。

全视软件

有两种类型的监控软件:

该拦截软件:家长可以创建批准的网站列表,阻止软件的帮助。所有其他网站可以被阻止。如果有任何试图访问未经批准的网站,他们将被记录下来,你会被一些程序的情况下它发生传递消息。你也可以限制,当你的孩子可以使用电脑和多久。据斯蒂芬·哈格谁是博士并且是在丹佛,一个伟大的地方开始对谁都有年幼的孩子父母的大学教授,是网络保姆。
记录软件:是接收,发送,下载和查看所有数据记录的录音软件。也采取了这种软件的电脑屏幕的定期快照。如果一个人不具备足够的时间去翻阅所有的数据,可以简单地标志的关键字(如性别有关的或亵渎的话)和接收,如果他们使用的警报。据海格eBlaster(成本约$ 100)是非常流行的选择。最先进的软件,像WebWatcher(成本约$ 100),提供拦截以及记录,它可以让家长看着自己的孩子的电脑活动,从一些远程计算机的实时性。

内置保护:

Mac和PC都内置到操作系统中的家长控制。每个最新的系统(Mac的豹和Windows Vista)中提供了父母大量的控制,先生说,伊斯梅尔·马托斯从野人队。如果你正在考虑升级操作系统,交换机可以节省你的监控软件的额外费用。

为了使用您的计算机的控制,你应该做的第一件事就是建立个人用户帐户为每个孩子。您可以检查您的计算机的用户指南这样做,如果你还不知道怎么办呢。

Mac用户:接下来的事情就是选择Apple菜单上的系统首选项,然后单击帐户。对于每一个孩子的帐户,点击家长控制。您将有类别(Safari浏览器,邮件等),可以监视或限制清单。

据马托斯,如果你正在运行Leopard时,IM会话可以被记录,并指定了与他们的孩子能够通过的iChat或电子邮件交谈。您还可以限制看电视的时间,例如您可以设置电脑在晚上8点自动登录带孩子出去。

Windows用户:家长控制可以通过控制面板进行访问。你应该寻找的用户帐户和家庭安全控制。我们将为您提供不同的选择有关Windows Vista中的网络限制。您还可以选择收到关于孩子的电脑使用情况的报告。您可以阻止令人反感的节目和视频游戏,并指定特定的时间禁地。

该系统使用的是不要紧,大多数的浏览器(火狐,Safari浏览器等),具有自动历史记录,显示被访问的网站。如果你不知道如何检查的历史,您可以检查用户手册。但请记住,孩子们可以学习删除历史记录,以覆盖轨道,所以你应该问他们如果您发现该浏览器的历史记录被清除。

需要更多的帮助吗?无论微软(Windows)和苹果(苹果电脑)有在线教程以及对网站的详细信息 – 只需谷歌术语“家长控制”与“微软”和“苹果”,以找到家长控制。苹果的用户也有设施,以预约在附近的苹果商店。或者,可以在800怪杰小队拨打电话进行咨询通过电话或安排访问(这是昂贵的,但 – 家访的价格从$ 99)。

我们逐渐给孩子们更多的独立和自由的大部分喜欢骑自行车,攀爬树,过马路等,但在数字化世界的安全问题,也有它来,随着时间的不同和新的风险。你的本能可能会回退为孩子们接近十几岁的年龄,但是这是什么时候,你应该更多地参与。当你的孩子告诉你同样的尝试了和真正的呐喊“但是我所有的朋友做”,你应该比较与其他孩子家长的注意事项;你很可能发现,他们大多是因为担心像你(加,你会看到,父母让孩子们有和无限制地访问互联网!)。

请记住,你提供你的孩子的保护永远不会完成的整个世界是存在在那里与所有的丑陋和美丽。而有些丑陋和美丽一定会通过调制解调器来你家(不管你做什么)。只要不放弃。据辛西娅·爱德华兹,谁是博士和心理学的梅勒迪斯学院在北卡罗来纳州罗利教授:家长应很早就开始对话,他们应该继续下去。

你应该允许时,你应该允许?

是你的孩子长大了,有手机吗?以及如何对你的孩子自己的E-mail地址?下面说的是你应该怎么做这些调用:

你的孩子想:游戏系统
当他们开始问:许多孩子都能够通过灵活幼儿园工作任天堂的DS的控制。他们可能会想有一个。
你应该考虑:你应该兽医游戏仔细。不要以为评级“E为大家”是指这场比赛将是适当的。你应该摘去网络游戏,直到孩子完全明白网上安全。因为它开辟了与其他在线玩家的实时通信。如何玩视频游戏的钱太多了?你应该可以看到你的孩子的行为会受到影响,然后你就可以相应地设置时间限制。

你的孩子想:手机
当他们将开始问:当你的孩子达到四年级时,他们可能会被有有有手机的几个同学。
你应该考虑:是手机的一个9岁的必需品?可能不会。然而,一旦他们是12,短信可能是你的孩子的社会世界的一大组成部分。如果你决定它的时候,你应该研究有关携带手机上的学校财产的办学方针。你应该设置有关何时以及有多少可以你的孩子使用手机的某些特定的限制,你应该有明确的计划,以便强制执行。

你的孩子想:IM帐户/电子邮件
当他们将开始问:当孩子到小学三年级左右,他们开始叫嚣的私人IM或电子邮件帐户。
你应该考虑:孩子们可以使用家庭共享电子邮件地址。当他们是11,12,你应该考虑制定单独的帐户为孩子,你应该告诉他们,你将通过他们的消息曾经在一段时间扫描,以确保他们使用自己的账户负责。提醒您的孩子的即时消息并不像他们想象的那样转瞬即逝的 – 他们可能会被保存,然后转发。

你的孩子想:宽带接入
当他们开始问:谁是高年级的孩子们需要为了做功课项目的上网服务。他们最终会希望不受阻碍地进入。
你应该考虑:如果你的父母控制或软件卡住有用的教育网站,你应该考虑到它们松散。但是,你应该定期检查你的电脑的历史记录,检查那里的孩子们的上网把他们。一定要加强对网络安全的经验教训。

手机101

所以,你已经决定,这是关于你装备孩子用手机的时间。以下是你应该考虑的一些变量:

家长控制:一些供应商允许你限制了电话号码将在哪个手机能拨打或接听来自电话,以及限制文本。还有一些项目,如由AT&T的智能限制(成本为$ 4.99 /月),这限制以及限制哪一个可以在下载花费的金额的网页内容 – 比如孩子可能架起来的巨大费用的铃声。

照片/视频:大多数标准的手机都可以拍摄照片和视频,以及与这些手机也可以显示出那些被其他人发送的,这会导致种种风险:比如,有人可能拍摄照片的朋友脱衣然后在电话簿中发送给每个人或者他们可能会发布到网上。因此,这是非常重要的,你坦率地跟孩子有关的东西,不要拍,不要送说话。你也应该告诉你的孩子,你会定期查看保存的照片并保存视频,只有你是一个谁可以将它们删除。

监测:如果你不熟悉的电话,你应该问营业员,让你知道怎么看最近的文本和通话。人们可以清除这些历史,所以如果需要的话,你的电话费可以简单的交叉引用。通常情况下,票据逐项接收和发送的每个文本。你不会看到文字的身体,但你会知道什么时候该文被发​​送,号码发送它。如果您担心,也有外部的监督服务,如Spyrix.com。它使家长完全访问邮件,提醒他们在任何情况下,消息来自未经批准的来源。

How to Spy on your Child Online

, , , , , , ,

Why one should monitor the cell phone and the computer use of kids, when one generally knows where the kids are every day, with whom they are, and what are they doing. Well, in digital world, even the youngest children these days are spending a lot of time and we are often reduced to role of mere spectators and majority of us are reeling from case of a digital whiplash. Even little kids these days might understand the technology of today much better than us.

Today’s kids have only known the world that is cyber filled. Every aspect of live today has technology woven through it.  Technology informs the friendships of our kids, their education and even their understanding of world. And here we are scrambling to figure out the rules to set and their enforcement.

A big problem is that this subject is not covered in parental playbook; the chapter has not yet been written, and the society has not made any standards yet. There is driving age and drinking age, but no conventional wisdom exists about the age kids should go online on their own or they should be allowed to text their friends on cell phone, or what role should we play as parents.

kids and internet

Brave new world

The digital life begins early in the toddlerhood and it accelerates at speed of light. The kids who use the popular Disney site have their avatars even before they have their permanent teeth. The Wii having the web browsing feature and Nintendo DS become the passions of our kids. They watch and enjoy the videos on YouTube and stumble upon the treasure trove of information and knowledge and everything imaginable — on the internet. In early days, moms used to overhear the phone conversations of kids; but now a so much of the communication goes on pretty silently, through IMs and emails and texts.

We worry for our kids, that some creepy adults might pose as children and target the kids and it the kids might just inadvertently give out the personal information, putting themselves at risk. There are many other concerns too. Kids are communicating with each other on a whole new level: They might say some things about or to each other on internet which they would never say to each other in person. And of course it can result in cyber bullying, toxic gossip as well as damaged reputations. The children may also think that images and words posted online are temporary, but they might be saved by someone and forwarded to anyone and can be seen by anyone. These images or words can practically linger online for many years. The words that are typed in text messages which seem impermanent and innocuous can be actually life changing. For example, in 2007 a boy was arrested in Portage, Indiana for sending some angry texts to his ex. He threatened his ex-girlfriend and another thread in those messages. Had he said those words on her face, it might not have been a big issue. But as they were digital messages, alarm bells started ringing and police got involved. Boy was not convicted, but charges are going to remain on his record until he is 18.

With digital part of the social lives of kids happening outside the view of parents, there is a need for us to ask blunt questions. The parents must keep close check on what their kids are doing. It becomes quite awkward at this part, as many parents get queasy at idea of spying on the kids digitally.

Is it okay to monitor the digital behavior of your kids closely? Well, it depends on how far one goes.

Trust, but verify

Nurit Sheinberg who is the director of evaluation and research at Mailman Segal Institute for the Early Childhood Studies at the Nova Southeastern University in Fort Lauderdale, Florida says that difference between spying and responsible monitoring is that ‘Gotcha factor’.  In case your kids do not know that you are monitoring them and you end up finding something after which you go all “Gotcha!” the kids will be shocked and they will probably be resentful. They may begin to hide things. On after deciding what kind and how much of monitoring you are going to do, let your kids know it.

Your honesty is advantageous: if your kids know that you are watching them, the self-monitoring instincts of your kids will kick in. (Not forgetting that the kids are really good at finding the ways around the parental control — we will shed more light on it latter.) A great thing which you should do is to put computer in some central location. There is no better way of keeping an eye on the things than just wandering around and saying “Hey, which website is it?”

Yes, you should trust the kids. But remember that they are kids. Simply relying on the words of your kids might not be good enough to ensure their safety.

So you should ask questions like: Which websites they visited today?  Who do they communicate with? Try keeping the conversations positive. If the only message you are giving is that “You are using the computer or tablet too much” or “Do not look at this website” there can be tension, and the kids will avoid coming to you in case they see stuff which upsets them or confuses them.

You should check regularly in order to make sure that you know whole truth: Use the history function of your browser to see the websites which were recently visited and to see the stuff that was downloaded. In case you want to have more detailed info, try the monitoring software.

All-Seeing Software

There are two categories of monitoring software:

  1. The blocking software: The parents can create list of the approved websites with the help of blocking software. All other websites can be blocked. If any attempt is made to visit the unapproved websites, they will be recorded, and you will be messaged by some program in case it happens. You will also be able to restrict when your kids can use computer and for how long.  According to Stephen Haag who is Ph.D. and is a professor at University of Denver, a great place to begin for the parents who have young kids, is Net Nanny.
  2. The recording Software: All data that is received, sent, downloaded and viewed is recorded by the recording software. Periodic snapshots of computer screen are also taken by this software. In case one does not have enough time to scroll through all data, one can simply flag keywords (such as sex-related or profanity words) and receive the alerts if they are used. According to Hagg eBlaster (costs about $100) is very popular choice. Most advanced software, like WebWatcher (costs about $100), offers blocking as well as recording, and it lets the parents watch the computer activity of their kids from some remote computer in real time.


Built in Protection:

Macs and PCs have the parental controls built in to the operating systems. Each of newest systems (Mac’s leopard and Windows vista) offers the parents a lot of control, says MR Ismael Matos from Geek Squad. In case you are thinking of upgrading the operating system, the switch may save you additional costs of the monitoring software.

In order to use the controls of your computer, the first thing you should do is to set up the individual user accounts for each kid. You can check the user guide of your computer to do so, if you don’t already know how to do it.

Mac Users: The next thing is to choose the system preferences on Apple menu and then click on Accounts. For the account of each child, click on the Parental Control. You will have list of the categories (Safari, Mail, etc.) which you can monitor or restrict.

According to Matos, in case you are running Leopard, the IM conversations can be recorded and designated that with whom your child is able to talk via iChat or e-mail. You will also be able to limit the screen time e.g. you can set computer to log the kids out automatically at 8 pm.

Windows Users: Parental controls can be accessed via Control Panel. You should look for the User Accounts and the Family Safety Controls. You will be provided with choices in Windows Vista about the web restrictions. You will also have option to receive reports on the child’s computer usage. You can block the objectionable programs and video games and designate certain times off-limits.

It doesn’t matter which system you are using, most of the browsers (Firefox, Safari, etc.) have automatic history log which shows the sites that were visited. In case you do not know how to check history, you can check the user manual. But remember that the kids may learn deleting history in order to cover the tracks, so you should ask them in case you find out that history of browser was cleared.

Require more help? Both Microsoft (Windows) and Apple (Macs) have the online tutorials as well as detailed information on the websites – simply Google the term “parental controls” along with “Microsoft” or “Apple” in order to find the parental controls. The users of Mac also have the facility to make appointment at nearby Apple Store. Or one can call at 800-Geek-Squad for consultation over phone or for scheduling a visit (it is pricey though – the price of home visits starts from $99).

We gradually give the kids more independence and freedom with most of the safety issues like riding bicycle, climbing tree, crossing street etc. But in digital world, there are different and new risks which come along with time. Your instinct may be backing off as the kids approach teen years, but that is exactly when you should get more involved. When your kids tell you the same tried out and true cry of “But all of my friends do it”, you should compare the notes with parents of other kids; you will most probably discover that most of them are as concerned as you are (plus, you will see which parents let the kids have and unrestricted access to the internet!).

Remember that the protection which you provide your kids won’t ever be complete as the whole world is present out there with all its ugliness and beauty. And some of the ugliness and beauty will surely come to your home via modem (regardless of what you do). Just do not give up. According to Cynthia Edwards, who are Ph.D. and professor of the psychology at the Meredith College in Raleigh, NC: the parents should start conversation fairly early and they should keep it going.

What should you allow and when should you allow?

Is your kid old enough to have cell phone? And how about your child’s own e-mail address? Stated below is how you should make these calls:

What your child wants: Gaming system
When they will start asking: Many kids are able to nimbly work controls of Nintendo DS by preschool. And they will probably like to have one.
What should you consider: You should vet the games carefully. Do not assume that the rating “E for everyone” means the game will be appropriate. You should put off the networked gaming until the child is fully aware of online safety. As it opens up the live communications with other online gamers. How much of playing video games is too much? You should see how the behavior of your child is affected, and then you can accordingly set the time limits.

What your child wants: cell phones
When they will start asking:
When your kid reaches fourth grade, they will probably be having some classmates having have cell phone.
What should you consider:
Is a cell phone a necessity of a 9 year old? Probably not. However once they are 12, text messages might be a big component of the social world of your child. In case you decide that it’s time, you should research the school policy about carrying cell phone on the school property. You should set some specific limits about when and how much can your child use the cell phone, and you should have clear plan in order to enforce it.

What your child wants: IM account/e-mail
When they will start asking:
When the kids reach third grade or so, they start clamoring for a private IM or email account.
What should you consider:
Kids can use the e-mail address shared by the family. When they are 11, 12 you should consider making a separate account for the kids and you should tell them that you will be scanning through their messages once in a while in order to ensure that they are using their account responsibly. Remind your kids that the IMs are not as fleeting as they think – they might be saved and then forwarded.

What your child wants: broad internet access
When they will start asking:
The kids who are in the upper grades require the internet access in order to do their homework projects. Eventually they will want unfettered access.
What should you consider:
In case your parental controls or software are blocking the useful educational websites, you should consider to loosen them. But you should regularly check the history of your computer to check where the kids’ surfing took them. Make sure to reinforce lessons about the online safety.

Cell Phone 101

So you have decided that it’s about time that you equip the child with cell phone. Following are some variables which you should consider:

The Parental Controls: A number of providers allow you to limit the phone numbers at which a phone is able to call or receive calls from, along with restricting text. There are some programs such as the Smart Limits by AT&T (costs $4.99/month), which restricts the web content along with limiting the amount which one can spend on the downloads – for instance the kids might rack up huge charges on the ringtones.

Photo/video: Most of the standard phones are able to take photos and videos as well and these phones can also show the ones sent by other people, this results in all sorts of risks: For example, someone might shoot photo of their friend undressing and then send it to everyone in the phonebook or they might post it online. Therefore, it is very important that you frankly talk with the child about the stuff not to shoot and not to send. You should also tell your child that you will be looking at the saved photos and saved videos regularly and only you are the one who can delete them.

Monitoring: In case you are not familiar with phone, you should ask salesperson to let you know how to see the recent texts and calls. One can clear these histories, so if required, you can simply cross reference with phone bill. Usually the bills itemize each text received and sent. You will not see body of text, but you will know when the text was sent and the number to which it was sent. In case you are concerned, there are external monitoring services like It gives the parents complete access to the messages and alerts them in case any messages come from the unapproved sources.