LittleBrother在看着你

如果你正在阅读这篇文章,从您的办公室的电脑,你的老板可能是电子阅读你的肩膀上。新的技术已经允许雇主检查员工是否在浪费任何时候在娱乐性网站或发送任何非专业的电子邮件。但是,当完全做到用人单位的合法商业利益成为不可接受的侵犯工人的隐私权?

此前一年,软件来到市场,允许雇主监视互联网的使用自己的工人。软件包采用的哪些被分类为“非生产”,“生产性”或中性“约45000网站数据库,然后将其得分基于他们的浏览的雇员。该软件识别最频繁的用户和最受欢迎的网站。它被称为LittleBrother。

这个软件,“LittleBrother”代表惊人的能力,这技术已经提供给雇主保持其劳动力的轨道。也有用于搜索电子邮件和用于阻塞不良网址许多方案。除了安装监控软件,老板可以简单地去到您的硬盘驱动器,以检查缓存并看到你一直在网络和阅读你的电子邮件。

好了,你删了你所打发你的上司的无能消息?不够好。也许电子邮件垃圾桶仍然存在于服务器上,以及一些电脑顾问可以检索信息。

那么,这种监控员工很普遍,它是一个不断增长的现象。您只需专注于电子邮件,进行的一项调查由协会人力资源开发在1996年发现,约有36%的公司定期搜查员工的消息,约70%的人认为雇主应该有这样做的权利。

boss and employee

法律:

说到法律,员工很少有追索权。联邦法律是最相关的是1986年的电子通信隐私法禁止它。如果没有授权截取不同的电子通信。这包括电子邮件。然而,服务提供商是从法律的规定豁免。该法通常被解释为包括提供网络和电子邮件访问雇主,州大卫·索贝尔谁是合法的律师在华盛顿电子隐私信息中心有哪些会从雇主至少通知了所需的一个联邦法案工作人员关于他们的监测,但这一法案未能前来,从1993年投票决定1995年。

有一个在法院有类似的情况。据多萝西Glancy谁在圣克拉拉大学的教授,不会有太多的情况下在法庭上,通常他们往往违背员工。通常的情况是,法院的意见采取的观点是,如果员工使用他们的雇主的财产 – 网络和他们的雇主的电脑 – 有关隐私保护员工的期望是非常低的。 Glancy进一步说,如果员工希望有一些专用通信,也可以有它自己的设备和时间。

在一个演示对员工的监督,迈克尔S布克哈特和律师事务所摩根路易斯马克S.迪希特和博科思告诉法庭试图平衡员工的合理私隐期望对雇主进行监控的业务理由。例如,在史密斯与皮尔斯伯里公司,它是由迈克尔·史密斯认为,他有他的隐私侵犯,他从作业错误地排出后,用人单位看了一些他的电子邮件,他与导师交流了。在其他各种进攻引用,在电子信息,他曾扬言“杀背后刺的混蛋”谁在销售管理工作。它被排除由史密斯没有隐私的雇主的系统上的任何合理的预期法院。这是尽管这一事实,用人单位皮尔斯伯里反复曾向员工认为他们的电子邮件是保密的。法院还认为,该公司在防止“不专业和不恰当”的行为利益超过史密斯的隐私权。

隐私的道德事项:

好了,员工的监督是法律的事实,并没有作出正确选择自动。从道德的角度来看,员工不放弃对她的所有或他的隐私,当他们进入职场。为了确定雇主和雇员的人格权在多大程度上应该扩大,这将是首先简要探索如何隐私成为道德的事有用。

哲学在SCU的教授迈克尔·迈耶,解释它:员工是道德的代理人谁是自治的。这意味着该雇员具有由某些权利限定的独立道德状态,其中之一是,它们不应该仅是增加了整体利润或福利的装置所使用的其他。

案例在工作场所监测:

如果用人单位使用了一些软件包,将清理电脑办公,并消除了工人安装游戏,很少人会觉得这是侵犯了他们的隐私权。员工与这些入侵的舒适表明,大多数人没有过错的雇主坚持,她或他提供必须只能用于工作目的,至少在工作时间内的设备。

现在的问题是,为什么我们要募资,当用人单位试图以确保他们的设备不被用于冲浪未涉及员工的岗位网站?小时是花在浏览网上的Epicurious的的配方文件中的数字是尽可能多的违反劳动合同中玩游戏。

物有所值是根据约瑟夫·加伯谁是专栏作家Frobes杂志的下卧原则。如果你没有提供的物有所值,你趴在某种意义上。加伯提供了以下说明:在情况下,我们雇人为粉刷房子,而那个人没有做北墙,一个道德义愤会被我们感受到。同样地,如果我们支付了工人提供良好的一天的工作,工人被发现冲浪一些限制级的网站,我们会在道德上拍案而起。

这种“cyberlollygagging是一个不小的问题。它被发现在研究由尼尔森媒介研究是在大公司像苹果,AT&T和IBM的员工登录到复式数千次的网络版上一个月。

雇主不用担心丢失的生产力,以及他们对于在专有信息的盗窃使用电子邮件一些合理的担忧。据“手册的白领犯罪”这占了超过每年$ 2十亿的损失。这种信息的传递可以通过使用搜索员工的电子邮件的可疑字串,或简单地达到他们的员工和阅读邮件的硬盘驱动器的雇主计划进行监测。

在一个案例中去年,Cadence公司系统的前雇员得到被控窃取专有信息,并打算把这个信息发给竞争对手的软件制造商先锋!检察官告诉记者,该员工离开Cadence公司之前,他通过电子邮件发送的包含500万个字节的数据到个人电子邮件帐户的文件。有人建议由他可能已经派遣公司产品的源代码,这样大的消息。这促使Cadence公司与警方联络。

除了生产力损失和破坏安全,还有其他的危险,以及可以通过电子通讯将带来给雇主。许多雇主现在被合法工作场所举行氛围责任。虽然案件最终被解雇,雇主不要担心诉讼,如$ 70万元一套的西装这是带来了摩根士丹利的员工,声称一个充满敌意的环境是由该公司的电子邮件系统的种族主义笑话创建。

性骚扰的情况下,也往往取决于敌意的工作环境的指控。这可以通过员工显示器或从网上下载色情材料来证明。加伯评论已经长了用来把赤裸裸的兔子在电脑屏幕上时,球员的日子,因为这是可操作的东西。

为了防止这样的滥用,加伯认为,雇主必须允许监控。他说,该公司无法进行负责停止不可接受的行为,并否认这些公司都需要保持对此类行为进行检查的工具。

反对工作场所监测的案例:

考虑以下情况:它是一个午餐时间。一名员工写纸条给她的男朋友。然后,她把那注在信封,然后把邮票就可以了,那是她自己的,然后丢弃这个包篮,其中发送的邮件将被收集。现在,这是否事实,纸笔,她用属于用人单位,给她的老板的权利,以打开信封,读了这封信?

那么,大多数人会回答没有,而这正是其雇主做出保卫电子邮件的监控参数,根据电子隐私信息中心的索贝尔:据称由雇主,因为他们自己的电脑,他们有权利读的计算机生成的电子邮件。情况变得这个事实而复杂的工作和个人生活都没有明确界定,因为一旦他们成功了,这是因为该员工监测技术的可能。员工可以在家办公,通过网络和电子邮件做的大部分业务。它往往是员工以上40小时每周工作。如果他们要发送消息给他们的Margaret阿姨住在萨斯卡通花费几分钟的时间了,他们不希望有他们的电子邮件是保密的吗?

辩论中的公平性也是一个很大的道德代价。通常情况下,它是没有上级领导在谁的监控公司,但都是一线工人。这是关键笔划监测尤其如此。这是电子监视哪个测量数据输入的速度的一种形式。发表在公开的个人管理的一篇文章:谁是监督员工多数电子是妇女谁是低级别的文职职位。

也有家长对这一问题有关侵犯隐私的是否只是或获得信息,雇主寻求至少进攻方式。计算机世界进行了一项调查,其中略多于谁是面试高管的一半是对监控互联网使用的员工。在PC经纪人,斯科特围场中,经理告诉杂志说,他相信他的员工第一次。如果有任何员工有任何问题,该问题将自动展示自己的任何需要他涉足的斗篷和匕首的把戏。然后,他继续说第二件事是,在情况下,他花时间在监视他的员工的网络使用情况,他会为有罪,他在浪费时间的员工。如果用人单位建立信任,员工的行为会自动适应,不是因为被监视的关怀,而是因为恐惧和尊重的社区结构的一部分,以一定的规范和。

一些可能性共同点:

模拟法庭的许多提到的伦理问题可以通过争辩说,监控归结到合同的问题。这是法律的SCU学院的经济学家戴维·弗里德曼教授的观点。据他说,没有协议这是正确的道德上的每一个人。重要的是什么由双方商定。在私密的情况下,承诺由雇主给的话,就必须得到尊重。而在另一方面,如果雇主有权利阅读电子邮件或监控网页浏览,无论是工人能接受这些条款,也可以看看其他地方找工作。

弗里德曼的说法并没有解决在较低的收入水平,谁没有接受这份工作的任何选择工人的问题。即使他们有一个选择,他们很可能被认为是入门级和具有监控作为工作环境的特征的位置之间进行选择。

但是,弗里德曼指出了一个地方有可能是支持者和监控的对手之间的一些共同点。据商定最各方争论,这两家公司必须有关于员工的电子监控非常明确的政策,这些政策必须传达有效地给他们。

建议由最近的一项研究由国际数据公司,这样的清晰度目前并不占上风。它在110业务是显示了员工的调查,约有45%的员工认为,公司没有对电子邮件的任何策略可言。而那些谁知道有关该公司的政策是无论是口口相传知道这还是他们直接参与了写它。

它被认为是通过波索斯,涉及的员工创建监视策略的是找到共同点的另一种方式。阿姆达尔,通过汇集经理,并制定了电子邮箱的指导方针和原则​​的员工,能够创造,这是可以接受的,双方这样的政策,波索斯说。

雇主保留监控员工的权利必须出席考虑其家长提出,确保监测提供合法的目的,遵循明确的程序,以保护工人的个人生活从不必要的窥探,或者由LittleBrother或大兄弟。

LittleBrother is watching you

, , , , , ,

In case you are reading this article from your office computer, your boss might be reading electronically over your shoulder. The new technologies have allowed the employers to check whether the employees are wasting any time at the recreational websites or are sending any unprofessional emails. But when exactly do the legitimate business interests of the employer become unacceptable invasion of the worker’s privacy?

Previous year, software came on market which allowed the employers to monitor the internet use of their workers. The software package employs database of about 45,000 websites which are categorized as “unproductive”, “productive” or neutral”, and then it rates the employees based on the browsing they do. The software identifies most frequent users and most popular websites. It is known as LittleBrother.

This software, “LittleBrother” represents amazing capabilities which technology has given to the employers for keeping track of their workforce. There are also many programs for searching emails and for blocking the objectionable websites. Beyond installing the monitoring software, the boss can simply go in to your hard drive, in order to check the cache and to see where you have been on Net and to read you emails.

Well, did you delete the message which you sent about the incompetence of your boss? Not good enough. Probably the email trash bin still exists on server, and a number of computer consultants can retrieve that message.

Well, such monitoring of employees is widespread and it is a growing phenomenon. Simply focusing on email, a survey carried out by Society for Human Resource Development in 1996 found that about 36% of the companies searched their employees’ messages regularly and about 70% said that employers should have right of doing so.

boss and employee

The Law:

Talking legally, the employees have very little recourse. Federal law that is most relevant is the Electronic Communications Privacy Act of 1986. It prohibits intercepting different electronic communications if one is not authorized. This includes email. However, service providers are exempted from the provisions of the law. The law is commonly interpreted in order to include the employers providing Net and email access, states David Sobel who is legal counsel for Electronic Privacy Information Center in Washington, D.C. There was one federal bill which would have required from the employers to at least notify the workers about monitoring on them, but this bill failed to come to vote from the year 1993 to the year 1995.

There is a similar situation in courts. According to Dorothy Glancy who is professor at the Santa Clara University, There are not many cases in court, and usually they tend to go against employee. It is often that the court opinions take point of view that if the employees use the property of their employer – the networks and computers of their employer – the expectation of the employee regarding privacy is very low. Glancy further says that in case the employees want to have some private communication, they can have it on their own equipment and time.

In one presentation on the monitoring of employees, Michael S. Burkhardt and Mark S. Dichter of law firm Morgan, Lewis and Bockius tell that the courts try to balance the reasonable privacy expectations of employee against the business justifications of the employer for monitoring. For instance, in Smyth vs. Pillsbury Co., it was argued by Michael Smyth that he had his privacy violated and he was discharged from the job wrongfully after the employer read some of his emails which he exchanged with the supervisor. Among other various offensive references, in electronic messages, he had threatened “killing backstabbing bastards” who were working in the sales management. It was ruled by the court that Smyth did not have any reasonable expectation of the privacy on the system of his employer. It was despite this fact that the employer Pillsbury repeatedly had assured the employees that their emails were confidential. Court also held that interest of the company in preventing the “unprofessional and inappropriate” conduct outweighed the privacy rights of Smyth.

Privacy as Moral Matter:

Well, the fact of employee monitoring being legal doesn’t make it right automatically. From ethical view point, an employee doesn’t give up on all of her or his privacy when they enter a workplace. In order to determine how far the moral rights of employer and employee should extend, it will be useful to begin with brief exploration about how the privacy becomes moral matter.

The professor of Philosophy at SCU, Michael J. Meyer, explains it: the employees are moral agents who are autonomous. This means that the employees have an independent moral status which is defined by some rights, and one of them is that they should not be used by the other only as means of increasing the overall profits or welfare.

The Case for Monitoring at Workplace:

In case an employer uses some software package which sweeps through the computer in office and eliminates the games installed by workers, very few people will feel it to be invasion of their privacy. The comfort of employees with such intrusions suggest that most of the people do not fault employers insisting that equipment which she or he provided must be only be used for the work purposes, at least during the working hours.

The question is that then why should we be balking when employers try to make sure that their equipment isn’t being used for surfing the web sites that are not related to employee’s jobs? The numbers of hours that are spent browsing online the recipe files of the Epicurious are as much a breach of work contract as playing games is.

Value for money is the under lying principle according to Joseph R. Garber who is a columnist for the Frobes magazine. In case you are not delivering the value for money, you are lying in some sense. Garber gives the following illustration: In case we hire someone for painting the house, and that person does not do northern wall, a moral outrage will be felt by us. Similarly, in case we are paying the workers for giving good day’s work and the workers are found to be surfing some X-rated websites, we will be morally outraged.

This “cyberlollygagging isn’t a small problem. It was found in a study by the Nielsen Media Research that the employees at the major corporations like Apple, AT&T and IBM logged in to online edition of the penthouse thousands of times in a month.

The employers have to worry about the lost productivity as well as they have some legitimate concerns regarding use of email in the thefts of the proprietary information. According to “Handbook on the White Collar Crime” this accounts for losses above $2 billion a year. Such information’s transfer could be monitored by using programs which search the employee emails for the suspected word strings or by the employers simply reaching in the hard drive of their employee and reading messages.

In one case previous year, former employee of the Cadence Systems got charged with stealing the proprietary information and for intending to bring this information to rival software maker Avant! The prosecutors told that before that employee left Cadence, he emailed a file that contained five million bytes of data to a personal email account. It was suggested by such large messages that he might have been sending the source code of company’s products. This prompted Cadence to contact police.

Besides the lost productivity and breached security, there are other dangers as well which can be posed to employers by the electronic communications. Many employers are now being legally held liable for atmosphere at workplace. Although cases are dismissed ultimately, the employers do worry about the litigation such as $70 million suit which was brought by the employees of Morgan Stanley, claiming that a hostile environment was created by the racist jokes on electronic mail system of the company.

The case of sexual harassment also quite often hinge on the allegations of hostile working environment. This may be evidenced by the employee display or downloading the pornographic materials from web. Garber comments that the days when guys used to put naked bunnies on the computer screens have been long gone as this is actionable stuff.

In order to prevent abuses like these, Garber argues that the employers must be allowed monitoring. He says that the corporations cannot be made responsible for stopping the unacceptable behaviors and then deny these corporations the tools that are needed to keep a check on such behaviors.

The Case against monitoring at workplace:

Consider the scenario: It is a lunch hour. One employee writes note to her boyfriend. Then she puts that note in envelop, then puts a stamp on it that is her own, and then drops this envelope in basket where the outgoing mail will be collected. Now, does this fact that paper and pencil which she used belonged to the employer, give any right to her boss to open the envelope and read the letter?

Well, most people will answer no, but this is exactly the argument which employers make to defend the monitoring of emails, according to Sobel of Electronic Privacy Information Center: It is claimed by the employers that as they own computer, they do have a right of reading emails which the computer produces. Situation becomes complicated by this fact that the work and the personal life aren’t clearly delineated as once they were, and this is probably because of the technologies that the employees are monitoring. The employees might telecommute, doing most of the business via Net and email. It is often that employees work above 40 hours week. In case they take few minutes off in order to send message to their Aunt Margaret living in Saskatoon, don’t they have the right of expecting their email to be confidential?

Debate in the fairness is also a big ethical consideration. Usually, it is no the higher-ups in companies who are monitored, but are the line workers. This is particularly true with key-stroke monitoring. This is a form of the electronic surveillance which measure speed of the data entry. In an article published in Public Personal Management: Majority of the employees who are monitored electronically are women who are in low level clerical positions.

There is also this question of Parent’s about whether invasion of the privacy is only or least offensive way of obtaining information which employers seek. PC World carried out a survey, in which a little more than half of executives who were interviews were against monitoring the internet use of employees. Manger of the PC Brokers, Scott Paddock, told magazine that he trusts his employee first. In case there are any problems with any employee, the problems will automatically present themselves with out any need for him to get involved in the cloak and dagger shenanigans. Then he continued and said the second thing is that in case he spent time on monitoring the web usage of his employees, he would be as guilty as his employees in wasting time. If the employers build trust, the behavior of employees will automatically conform to the certain norms and not because of the fear of being watched, but rather because of care and the respect that are a part of communal fabric.

Some Possibilities for Common Ground:

Mooting many of the mentioned ethical issues is possible by arguing that the monitoring comes down to question of contract. This is the view of a professor at the SCU School of law and an economist, David Friedman. According to him, there is no agreement which is right morally for everybody. Important thing is what is agreed upon by the parties. In case promise of the privacy is given by employer, then it must be respected. And on the other hand, if employer reserves right of reading emails or monitoring web browsing, either the workers can accept these terms or they can look at other places to find employment.

The argument of Friedman does not address problems of the workers in lower income levels, who do not have any choice of accepting the job. Even if they do have a choice, they are likely to be choosing between the positions that are entry level and that have monitoring as feature of the work environment.

However, Friedman does point to one area where there might be some common ground between the proponents and the opponents of monitoring. It is agreed upon by the most parties to debate that the companies must have very clear policies regarding electronic surveillance of employees and these policies must be communicated effectively to them.

It is suggested by one recent study by the International Data Corp. that such clarity doesn’t currently prevail. It was showed by a survey of the employees at about 110 business that about 45% of the employees thought that company did not have any policy on the e-mail at all. And those who did know about the company policy had either known it by the word of mouth or they were involved directly in writing it.

It is believed by Pozos that involving the employees in creation of monitoring policy is another way of finding the common ground. Amdahl, by bringing together the manager and the employees to develop the guidelines and principles for the electronic mail, was able to create such a policy that was acceptable for both parties, Pozos says.

The employers reserving the right of monitoring their employees must attend to considerations which Parent proposes, making sure that monitoring serves legitimate purposes and follows the clear procedures to protect the personal life of a worker from the unnecessary prying, either by the LittleBrother or by the Big Brother.