防止移动数据丢失 – 最佳方法

mobile protection

保护移动设备“的数据引起该采用类似双角色技术防范数据丢失的技术,以保证企业的信息安全。

第一步采取的寻求保护您的企业是保障移动设备上的信息。事实是,即使你的设备是很好的加密,并以饱满的密码保护,移动设备可能会迷失方向,或者你的员工可能无知地从网上下载一些恶意内容。

现在,应该在这样的情况下做些什么呢?这一系列的移动信息管理的第二部分将教你如何使自己免受外部威胁保护移动设备。

保护丢失或被盗的设备

组织暴露于严重的威胁时,其中机密商业信息被存储在移动设备丢失或被盗。正常情况下,该设备的数据应被加密和密码激活,但雇主希望完全有威胁通过从设备,它可通过各种方法来完成擦除这样的数据。

首先,IBM的Notes Traveler的和微软的Exchange ActiveSyn是保护您的数据与远程擦除工具。这款手机的数据是完全尽快擦除命令发送删除,这包括私人的应用程序,照片,音乐铃声等。

由于设备被假定为与一些未知者,拥有者可能更喜欢具有内容擦去。用户将是幸运的,如果他一开始就遵循定期数据备份的一些指令。

需要解决的另一个可能发生的是,当员工离开公司。在这种情况下的移动设备管理(MDM)将保留用户的个人资料完整,擦去组织数据。它也有做一个完整的擦拭,根据用户的选择的能力。

然而,事实是,远程擦拭具有一个主要的缺点;如果手机没有连接到网络,它不能被消灭,例如如果它在飞行模式,关闭或者如果手机是什么地方不能接收网络信号。这使得该方法不那么有效。

此外,如果在MDM的客户端被卸载时,或者如果Exchange或Notes顾客的帐户被停用,会有对发送的擦拭命令的响应,虽然,通常当在MDM卸载,或电子邮件帐户被停用,此自动和完全擦去设备的数据。

数据丢失防护

尽管移动设备的缺失可以使组织失去其重要的信息控制,MIM并不限于此问题。用户往往对企业电子邮件转发到他们的私人电子邮件地址或把一些组织上的文件服务,如Dropbox的。如果所有其他选项失败,员工可以简单地复制企业信息和粘贴无论他们的愿望。

好消息是, MDM提供商已经发达受到保护,免受诸如威胁的方式,因为他们知道的潜在风险的威胁具有。这里的关键工具被称为一个沙箱​​或一个安全容器。这是该装置受密码保护上的软件定义的区域。这个地区分开存储从用户的个人内容组织数据。在一个情况下员工离开组织,沙箱安全容器被远程擦除。

安全容器具有这是另一种重要特性,发送给它的企业数据都标记,并且这样的数据不能从容器中转发。你可以不转让或转发附件或电子邮件,也没有复制和粘贴的内容。

其他应用程序也可以存储在安全容器和用户不能转发这样的内容。 MDM整合保护云存储器的能力,重拳出击,需要服务,如Dropbox的。

保护移动应用程序

讽刺的是,这些保护措施可以通过恶意软件感染崩溃了。移动应用程序可以从多种来源得到,并且有使用由供应商来验证应用程序都是免费的恶意软件分发之前,他们的各种方法。

暴露在威胁变得复杂,如果该设备是“根” – 一个Android项(iOS的术语是“越狱”)。这个过程必须与禁用内置安全机制在设备上,从而使安装的应用程序,不论其来源。您可以轻松地获得软件root或越狱设备在互联网上。

几乎每一个MDM产品可以让你发现生根或越狱,之后这样的设备可能被拒绝访问企业电子邮件和其他一些重要的数据,直到设备的状态恢复。从目前的Windows Phone和黑莓手机还没有登录生根或越狱案件的报告,这是因为其设计的结果,因此生根和越狱往往仅限于谷歌的Andr​​oid和苹果的iOS。

当从苹果的iTunes商店用户下载的应用程序,他们享受高防护级别。在应用程序分布在苹果的商店,它们保证了应用程序的仔细审查任何可能的恶意软件感染。然而,当一个设备成为越狱,iOS应用程序可以从任何来源下载的,其结果是不可预知的。

Android的,直到目前,一直是广大手机恶意软件的受害者。据报告由McAfee,在2013年一个安全公司,Android的恶意软件增长了三分之一,在短短的四分之一上升,与被注册了高达68万的样本。

为了确保移动设备针对这一威胁,检测生根或越狱的是最重要的。在那里没有提供MDM的情况下,组织流动政策应该强制禁止生根或越狱的。

使用MDM系统允许雇主禁止特定的应用程序。可也有反病毒产品从类似的Bitdefender和卡巴斯基实验室和Avast的公司机器人。根据AV-测试,IT安全公司,有很多好的产品,均达到95%以上有效。

为了更好地控制自己的移动应用程序,大多数企业正在考虑建立自己的独立应用程序商店。 MDM供应商和专家像App47或Apperian提供这些设施。外部调节的应用程序分布和更新,内部应用程序商店也可以操作任何公司许可的软件

Prevention of Mobile Data Loss – Top Approach

,

mobile protection

Protection of mobile devices’ data entails the use of preventive data loss techniques like dual persona technology to guarantee the safety of company’s information.

The first step to take in your quest for securing your business enterprise is safeguard info on mobile devices. The fact is, even when your device is well encrypted and with full password protection, mobile devices could get lost, or your employees could ignorantly download some malicious content from the Internet.

Now, what should be done in such instance? The second part of this series on Mobile Information Management will teach you how to keep your mobile devices secured from external threats.

Securing lost or stolen devices

An organization is exposed to a serious threat when a mobile device in which confidential business information is stored gets lost or stolen. Normally, the device’s data ought to be encrypted and password activated, but employers will want to completely have the threat out by erasing such data from the device, which can be done by various methods.

Firstly, IBM’s Notes Traveler and Microsoft’s Exchange ActiveSyn are tools that protect your data with remote-wipe. The phone’s data is completely erased as soon as the wipe command is sent, this include private apps, photos, music ringtones etc.

Since the device is assumed to be with some unknown persons, the owner may prefer to have the content wiped off. The user would be lucky if he had initially followed some instructions on regular data backup.

Another likely occurrence that needs to be addressed is when a staff leaves the company. A Mobile Device Management (MDM) in such a situation will keep user’s personal data intact and wipe off the organizational data. It also has the capability to do a complete wipe, based on user’s choice.

However, the fact is that remote wiping has a major disadvantage; if the phone is not connected to a network, it cannot be wiped e.g. if it’s in airplane mode, switched off or if the phone is somewhere it cannot receive network reception. This makes this method less effective.

Moreover, if the MDM client is uninstalled, or if the account of the Exchange or Notes Traveler is deactivated, there will be no response to the wipe command sent, although, most often when the MDM is uninstalled, or email account is deactivated, this automatically and completely wipe off the device’s data.

Prevention of Data Loss

Although the loss of a mobile device can make the organization to lose control of its vital information, MIM is not restricted to this issue. Users tend to forward corporate emails to their private email addresses or put up some organizational files on services like Dropbox. If all other option fails, staffs can simply copy corporate information and paste wherever they wish.

The good news is; MDM providers have well developed ways to be protected against such threat, as they know the potential risk the threat possesses. The key tool here is referred to as a sandbox or a secured container. This is a software-defined area on the device that is password protected. This region stores organizational data separately from the personal content of users. In a situation where an employee leaves the organization, the sandbox or secure container is remotely wiped.

The secure container has another key feature which is, corporate data sent to it are all tagged, and such data cannot be forwarded from the container. You can neither transfer or forward attachment or emails nor copy and paste their content.

Other applications can also be stored in the secure container and users cannot forward such contents. MDM integrates the capability of protected cloud storages to strike out the need for services like Dropbox.

Securing Mobile Apps

Ironically, these protective measures can crash down by malware infection. Mobile apps can be gotten from a wide range of sources, and there are various methods used by vendors to verify that apps are free from malware before they are distributed.

Exposure to threat becomes complicated if the device is “rooted” – an android term (the iOS term is “jailbroken”). This process has to do with disabling the inbuilt security mechanism on the device, thereby enabling installation of applications regardless of their sources. You can easily get the software to root or jailbreak your device on the internet.

Practically every MDM product allows you detect rooting or jailbreaking, after which such a device maybe denied access to corporate emails and some other vital data until the device’s status is restored. From reports so far, Windows Phone and Blackberry Phones have not recorded cases of rooting or jailbreaking, this is as a result of their design, hence rooting and jailbreaking tends to be restricted to Google’s Android and Apple’s iOS.

When a user downloads apps from Apple’s iTunes store, they enjoy a high level of protection. Before apps are distributed on Apple’s store, they ensure the apps are scrutinized for any possible malware infection. However, when a device becomes jailbroken, iOS apps can be downloaded from any source, and the outcome is unpredictable.

Android, till presently, has always been a victim of a majority of mobile malware. According to a report by McAfee, a security firm in 2013, the growth of Android malware had risen by one-third in just a quarter, with a whopping 680,000 samples been registered.

To secure mobile devices against this threat, detection of rooting or jailbreaking is paramount. In the instance where there is no MDM provided for, the mobility policy of the organization ought to enforce a prohibition of Rooting or Jailbreaking.

The use of MDM systems allows employers to bar specific applications. Available also are anti-virus products for androids from firms like Bitdefender and Kaspersky Labs and Avast. According to AV-Test, an IT security company, a lot of the good products are up to 95% effective.

To control your mobile apps better, most organizations are contemplating building their individual app stores. MDM vendors and experts like App47 or Apperian provides these facilities. Outside regulating distribution of apps and their updates, internal app stores may also operate whichever corporate-licensed software