在工作场所的隐私和监督用人单位之间的螺纹线

office-employee

1.该主题介绍

在当今的商业环境,技术在我们生活的几乎每个方面的巨大作用。这是毫不奇怪的企业主发现其潜力,在工作时间监控员工的方法。几乎所有的企业都配备了电话,电脑和内部电子邮件服务。通过这些项目,几乎所有的东西之一进行可记录。虽然它可能看起来是侵犯隐私,这个问题是不规范之中;因此,雇主可能会介意,并节省大部分职场运输工具。

在文献中,一种新的技术术语出现来描述放在一起的人的所有电子条目,即“数字足迹”的过程。雇主可以使用它们来评估员工的生产工作场所。他可以搜索词模型和通信模型。此外,由于没有规定雇主可以说是一个负责任企业的做法来评估员工在工作,否则,可能会离开用人单位无遮蔽的赔偿责任。

根据管理机构和协会于2007年在美国进行的一项研究(AMAePI)显示,企业家约66%的录制现场检查,揭露不当搜索。走出这组几乎三分之二都使用软件站连接到不适当的网站。从2001年的情况,这意味着27%的增量,这主要是由于可能是员工访问的网站为成人,博彩平台或社交网络和娱乐。在组织内的时下的趋势是自动监控的电子邮件:几乎三分之一的企业主有裁员。

2.电话录音

是雇主获准注册员工时,在手机上?

大多数情况下,是的。例如,管理者可以监控与潜在客户隐藏的质量检查背后的概念的讨论。然而,在美国的一些州,当所有的部件都在同一个国家,法律规定的主角应该由一个消息被监视的对话框(加利福尼亚州)通知。像往常一样,也有例外,呼叫可能还在其次,恕不另行通知。法律不允许监控交易有关的电话没有一个警告,当从县外的人都参与进来。如已被使用,也有例外,即使在这里:当雇主知道呼叫有一个个人的性格,在任何情况下,他将继续监督电话。但这并不是它的结束,因为有时员工被要求不要采取用公司的电话,但自己的手机电话等;否则,他们的隐私可能被侵犯。

可一个企业老板要了一个人的电话记录?

这个问题还可以走的一步,雇主可能会要求一定的中尉的电话记录。随着一个笔录记录电话叫项目的帮助下可以存储。这种笔寄存器的主要功能是让管理者有该雇员的呼吁。这是有用的,以评估性能的工作地点作为与客户或,在现实中所花费的时间密切监测如何用人花费的工时。管理人员可以使用这些设备来跟踪员工,尤其是那些谁使用电话为生。通常情况下,员工们担心这些设备收集的信息被滥用,以评估其与客户的绩效水平。

如果我的耳机正在磨损,可以对话仍注册?

有没有从以往的情况不同。管理者可以监控同事之间或即使耳机使用客户交谈;没有来自该情况差时使用的电话。为了防止是,工作能推的停止播放按钮。

3. PC和终端监控

有人提到那个与手机,电脑可在他工作的地方建立一个单独的数字足迹文章的开头。几个各种类型PC监测可以区分:

通过软件,它允许另一人在实时看到别人的PC的屏幕或将信息存储在硬盘上或外部终端日志条目的形状。管理者可以监视是如何被使用的因特网连接,其被假定为生产率降低的主要原因的组织的雇员。好了,这可以从最外面的业务类型,但数据录入工作范围内的击键监控员工可以算工作。这样,雇主会知道员工有多少次触摸键盘在一个小时内。
第二个选择是计算时间的工人是不是在个人电脑

用人单位可以看到那些’端,而他的工作?

灵敏的讨论是,如果用人单位可以合法地观看显示的内容在终端的用户工作时。在一般情况下,这是可能的,管理者是所有硬件组件的老板,他可能会使用他们,因为他为所欲为。

这是毫无疑问的,这个问题是近代工商部门的当前问题和员工必须得到来自PC和其它电子监督监测有一定的保障。美国国家宪法,以宪法第四修正案,可能会降低员工的接触,在工作时,他们的无理搜查对象。在任何情况下,新的,更好的技术工具变得可用来衡量和监督员工在他们的工作场所。没有惊喜地看到阅读有关情况的消息,其中像样的监控工人的停止时间。他的隐私受到侵犯他的经理。

4.移动设备

如果我的雇主提供的电话进行监督?

监督你的雇主提供的手机的操作是合法的,在大多数情况下。你的雇主可以检查以保密的方式在手机上的信息。

我的雇主提供的手机接收到的消息,他们是保密的吗?

在发生在安大略市诉关达强的情况下,最高法院视察警务人员的个人信息由政府所有的手机和法院的结论是,它并没有与他的权利干涉。此外,法院进行了搜查鼓励雇主重新确定自己的协议,与员工,其中将包括对额外费用的收费就超过了对短信的极限。

我具备了使用我的手机的工作职责是什么吗?

自带设备(BYOD)是由一些雇主雇用的政策;政策鼓励员工使用自己的个人手机为工作的目的。它alsohelpsto降低成本的雇主。

对于采用BYOD的组织,它们通常包括在他们的工作证明,政策或手动。这是最好的员工通读并提出问题时有疑问,以便确定他/她准备在BYOD政策来参加。

由于试图稳定自己的隐私和组织的信息的安全性时BYOD对员工的影响,该法已被设置为员工不违反协议。

5.电子邮件,语音邮件和邮政邮件

我的电子邮件和语音邮件可以保持私有?

电子邮件和语音邮件不能真正保密。大多数时候,企业有电子邮件秩序,这是合法的为他们做什么进去,并出于安全目的,一个恒定的检查。雇主可以查询各类,语音邮件,甚至即时消息的电子邮件。

作为一名员工,你应该知道,没有隐私。你的雇主可以运行在什么在电子邮件为了一个恒定的检查。如果发生任何问题,并在法庭结束了,这种情况下,大部分时间有利于雇主。

由于发生在新泽西州最高法院2010年3月30日,一个组织的律师违反一名前员工隐私的情况下。法律的法院建立了员工不应该期待一个公司拥有的设备上的隐私。

不要留在系统我在我的电子邮件删除的邮件?

电子邮件和语音邮件将已删除的邮件鞭打,并保持他们。很显然,将被删除的消息,但将保持安全的在计算机内存中的其他重要信息。

是我的私人邮件标记保护?

有些电子邮件Give选项标记的私人信息,但不保证您的隐私。除非它是写在你与雇主签署的协议形式,即当您的个人将保持私密。

是否有任何机会的消息是保密的吗?

对于员工的隐私保障,用人单位使用加密。加密将允许该消息被在发送方的端加扰和被打开和可只对接收器。这意味着,不连你的同事或其他任何人都可以访问该消息,除了发送者和接收者。在某些特殊情况下,您的雇主。

可以邮寄的意思,我用我的雇主进行访问?

尽管联邦法律对违规的邮件,但你的雇主可以访问您的信件。该处理递送邮政邮件中的哪一个国内邮件手册(DMM)体内确保邮件移交给任一项的递送地址,并保持该记录。

DMM指出,如果一个邮件给任何类型的组织或姓名或者名称的个人和人不与组织了一个高级官员的同级或者有人可以打开邮件。

6.社会媒体观察

我在社交媒体网站后可以让我失业?

将有关于这取决于你的国家的法律和雇主的一些政策。

大部分的公司包括与使用社交媒体相关的政策。这会限制你,不能发布于任何社交媒体网站是什么,尤其是对公司和雇主。有一个特定的网站,即有对企业社交网络策略列表合规建设。要了解更多与此相关的情况下,你公司的政策,你可以直接问你的人力资源开发和主管。

在美国,如北达科他州,科罗拉多州,纽约州,康涅狄格州和加利福尼亚州一些国家有禁止监事和雇主给予处罚员工的法律,由于社交网络的活动,而在休班。然而,雇主必须管教自己的员工谁造成潜在的损失和麻烦,公司与这类活动的权利。其实,有反歧视法律,使雇主不能基于性别,国籍,宗教,种族,年龄和颜色来惩罚员工。任何人都应该联系律师,如果有这样那样的工作中的歧视。您可以搜索谁拥有在就业法专业律师。事实上,你可以找到他通过全国就业律师协会。

但也没有联邦法律,雇主不得以观察和监测他们的员工对社交媒体和其他社交网站。事实上,监事和雇主能够聘请第三方公司来观察员工的活动他们。有一家名为Teneros,在2010年推出的一项服务即“社会哨兵”我们的目标是跟踪和监控员工通过任何社交媒体网站的互联网活动。根据一个可靠的信息来源,雇主用它来确保使用社交媒体时,员工不泄露公司的任何敏感信息。这也是确保员工不从事任何一种行为,可能会损害公司的地位。

国家劳工关系委员会或国家劳动关系委员会做出有关与用人单位对社会化媒体的参与政策的一些规律。这些案件仅仅是事实的具体。没有为这个问题的指导意见:

•首先,雇主政策不应限制大致已经获得了保护联邦劳动法的一些活动。对于例子是工作条件和工资员工之间​​的讨论。

•此外,在社交媒体上所作的员工任何意见不会,如果他们只有微不足道的事情的保护。

如果一个员工申请工作时,给他的社交媒体帐号和密码?

在美国许多州已批准的立法,以保护求职者和员工问他们谁给这两个社会ID和密码的员工。这些州马里兰州,伊利诺伊州,新泽西州,密歇根州,内华达州,新墨西哥州,俄勒冈州,俄克拉荷马州,罗得岛州,俄勒冈州和其他许多人。它只是看起来不正确取出的隐私别人。

7.视频观察

它是合法的雇主在工作场所使用视频观察?

这很可能是肯定的。视频观察和监测是找出盗窃,监测的员工,和固定区域的一个特定的方法。例如,公共场所可以使用视频监控检测或收集证据上的任何错误行为。一个公司也可以用这种方法来提高员工的安全措施。

其实,雇主可以用它来监控员工的生产力,以及防止员工中被盗。有没有联邦法律,以防止这种行为,即使员工不知道他们的老板被观察到。

有没有在那里的视频摄像头监控是被禁止的条件?

在某些情况下,法院已经站起来了员工的隐私。这意味着,视频监控将被视为侵犯隐私权。这是为了防止视频监控等的滥用,以监控卫生间或更衣室。

各国作出的一些法律也可能对如何,在何处,为什么允许雇主监视使用隐藏的摄像头员工的限制。有大约工人的视频监控限制工会提出了谈判。该联盟成员应该向代表,如果他们有不舒服关于他们的工作场所视频监控。

那么音频监控?

基本上,有录音的功能,摄像头将成为窃听和窃听的法律问题。事实上,联邦法律,只要有一个党知道这种情况对电话谈话录音没有限制。大多数州也制定这部法律为进一步范围。有迹象表明,已经制定了与音频监控相关法律,12个州。当录音谈话中,各方都应该知道这个窃听。你可以找到关于它在互联网上的更多细节。

8.附例

由雇主在工作场所作出有关隐私问题的承诺具有法律约束力?

这是很难决定。当然,雇主谁的状态的职场问题,包括隐私案件的政策,它具有法律约束力。那么,用人单位可以在许多方面,如工会合同,备忘录,甚至是单纯的通讯手册这类政策。举例来说,如果有一个员工做一项政策,员工将获得有关视频和音频监控活动的通知。

用人单位可以利用GPS来追踪员工?

雇主可以利用GPS找到了他们的车辆和员工的工作中。关于这种行为的法律显著发展。事实上,一些雇主会使用任何设备来跟踪他们的员工的位置,包括蜂窝设备。您可以了解更多关于GPS在工作场所通过互联网。

是否有与工作场所的隐私相关的辅助员工任何可靠的组织?

当然,也有一些群体,可以帮助有关工作的隐私员工。他们积极参与这样的问题,他们有强有力的监管,以支持员工在工作场所的隐私。

Thread line between privacy and monitoring of an employer at the workplace

, , , ,


1. Introduction of the Topic

In today’s business environment, technology has a great role in almost every aspect of our lives. It is of no surprise that business owners noticed its potential as a method of monitoring its employees during the working hours. Almost all enterprises are equipped with telephones, PCs and internal email services. With these items, almost everything one do can be recorded. Although, it may seem as an invasion of privacy, this issue is not regulated yet; therefore, an employer might mind, and save most of the workplace conveyance.

In literature, a new technical term emerged to describe the process of putting together all electronic entries of a person, namely “digital footprints”. The employers may use them to assess employee production at the workplace. He might search for word models and communication models. Moreover, since there is no regulation an employer can state that is a accountable venture practice to evaluate employees while at work otherwise, might leave the employer unsheltered to liability.

According to a study conducted in United States in 2007 by a management institute and association (AMAePI) revealed that approximately 66% of the entrepreneurs are recording the site checks to expose inappropriate searching. Out of this group almost two thirds are using software stop connections to inappropriate sites. From 2001 circumstance, this implies an increment of 27 % and it was mostly due to possibility that employees will visit sites for adults, betting platforms or social networking, and entertainment. A nowadays tendency within the organization is the automatically monitoring of e-mail: almost one thirds of business owners have lay off workers.

2. Telephone Recording

Is an employer allowed to register employees when on the phone?

Mostly, yes. For instance, a manager may monitor discussion with potential clients hiding behind the concept of quality check. However, in some of US states, when all parts are in the same state, the law states that the protagonists should be informed by a message the dialog is monitored (California). As usual, there are exceptions and calls may still be followed without notice. Law does not allow monitoring of trading-related phone calls without a warning when people from outside the county are involved. As already used, there are exceptions even here: if the employer is aware the call has a personal character, under no circumstance he would continue overseeing the call. But this is not the end of it as sometimes employees are being asked not to take such calls using company’s phones but their own mobile phones; otherwise their privacy might be invaded.

Can a business owner asked for the record of one’s phone calls?

The matter can go even one step further and an employer may ask for the phone records of a certain subaltern. With the help of an item called pen register telephone calls can be stored. The main functionality of this pen register is to allow the manager to have the calls made by the employee. This is useful to assess the performance at the working place as the time spent with clients or, in reality to monitor closely how the employer is spending the working hours. Managers may use these devices to track employees, especially those who use telephones for a living. Often, employees are worried the information collected from these devices is misused to evaluate the level of their performance with customers.

If I headsets are being wear, can conversations still be registered?

There is no difference from the previous situation. The managers can monitor the conversations between co-workers or with customers even when headsets are used; there is no difference from the situation when a phone is used. To protect against is, the work can push the button that stops the broadcasting.

3. PC and Terminals Monitoring

It was mentioned at the beginning of the article that together with phones, computers can be used to build the digital footprint of an individual at his working place. Few types of PC monitoring can be distinguished:

  1. By software, which allows another person to see in real-time the screen of someone else’s PC or to store information in a shape of log entry on a hard disk or external terminal. Managers can monitor how the Internet connection is being used, which are assumed to be main causes of reduced productivity among employees of an organization. Well, this can work for most of the business types from out there but for monitoring employees within the data entry working field keystrokes can be counted. This way an employer will know how many times an employee touch the keyboard in one hour.
  2. Second option is to count the time a worker is not at the PC

Can the employer see ones’ terminal while he is working?

A sensitive discussion is if the employer can legally watch what is displayed on terminal while the user is working. In general, this is possible as the manager is the owner of all hardware components, and he might use them as he pleases.

It is of no doubt that this issue is a present problem of the business sector of modern times and employees have to be given a certain protection from PC and other electronic overseeing monitoring. United State Constitutions, by Fourth Amendment, might reduce the exposure of employees while at work when they are subjects of unreasonable searches. In any case, new and better technological tools are becoming available to measure and oversee employees at their working place. There is no surprise to see read in the news about situations where the decent monitoring of a worker stops and where his privacy is being invaded by his manager.

4. Mobile devices

Should my employer-provided phone be supervised?

Overseeing the operation of your employer-provided phone is legitimate in most cases. Your employer can inspect the information on the cell phone in a confidential way.

The received messages on my employer provided cell phone, are they confidential?

In a case that occurred in City of Ontario v. Quon, the Supreme Court inspected the personal messages of a police officer on a phone owned by the government and the court concluded that it did not meddle with his right. Also the search carried out by the court encouraged the employers to redefine their agreement with employees which will include charges on extra cost on exceeding the limit on text messages.

What right do I possess for using my mobile phone for job functions?

Bring your own Device (BYOD) is a policy employed by some employers; the policy encourages the employees to use their personal mobile phone for the purpose of the job. It alsohelpsto reduce cost for the employer.

For organizations that employ BYOD, they usually include it in their employment letter, policies or manual. It is advisable for the employee to read through and ask questions when in doubt in order to be certain that he/she is ready to partake in the BYOD policy.

Due to the effect that BYOD has on employees when trying to stabilize their privacy and the security of the organization’s information, the law has been set for the employee not to breach the agreement.

5. Email, Voice Mail and Postal Mail

Can my email and voice mail be kept private?        

Email and voice mails cannot really be kept private. Most times, organizations have an email order and it is legitimate for them to do a constant checkup on what goes in and out for security purpose. Employers can check email of all kinds, voice mails and even instant messages.

As an employee, you should know that there is no privacy. Your employer runs a constant check on what goes on in the email order. If any issue occurs and ends up in the court, such cases most times favor the employer.

Due to a case that occurred in New Jersey Supreme Court in March 30, 2010 that the counsel of an organization breached the privacy of an ex employee. The court of law established that employee should not expect privacy on a company owned device.

Do the messages I delete in my email remain in the system?

Email and voice mail move deleted messages to thrash and keeps them. Obviously, the message will be deleted but will be kept safe with other important information in the computer memory.

Are my private marked messages protected?

Some email give option to mark private messages but that does not assure your privacy. Unless it is written in agreement form you signed with your employer, that is when your private will remain private.

Is there any chance for messages to be confidential?

For the assurance of employee’s privacy, employers make use of encryption. Encryption will allow the message be scrambled at the sender’s end and be opened and accessible only to the receiver.  This means that not even you colleagues or anyone else can have access to the message except the sender and receiver. In some exceptional cases, your employer can.

Can postal mail meant for me be accessed by my employer?

Although the federal law is against the mail violation but your employer can access your postal mail. The body that deals with delivery of postal mails which is Domestic Mail Manual (DMM) ensures that the mail is handed over to any one at the delivery address and keeps the record.

DMM states that if a mail addressed to any kind of organizational or an individual with name or title and the person is not with the organization anymore, a senior officer or someone of same level can open the mail.

6. Social Media Observation

Can my post on social media sites make me jobless?

There will be some policies about this depending on your State law and employer.

Most of the companies include policies associated with the usage social media. These will limit what you can and cannot post on any social media sites, especially about the company and the employer. There’s a particular site namely Compliance Building having a list of social networking policies for companies. To find out more about your company’s policy related to this case, you can ask directly to your HRD and supervisor.

Some states in the USA such as North Dakota, Colorado, New York, Connecticut, and California have laws that forbid supervisors and employers from giving punishment to an employee due to social networking activity while on off-duty. However, the employers have the right to discipline their employees who cause potential damages and troubles to the company related to such kind of activity. Actually, there are laws of anti-discrimination that make employers aren’t able to punish employees based on gender, nationality, religion, race, age, and color. Anyone should contact a lawyer if there’s such kind of discrimination at work. You can search a lawyer who has the specialty in the law of employment. In fact, you can find him through the Association of National Employment Lawyers.

There’s also no federal law that employers aren’t allowed to observe and monitor their employees on social media and other networking sites. In fact, supervisors and employers are able to employ third-party companies to observe the employee’s activity for them. There was a company called Teneros that launched a service namely a “Social Sentry” in 2010. The objective was to track and monitor employees’ activity through the internet in any social media sites. Based on a reliable information source, the employers use it to ensure that the employees don’t leak any sensitive information of the company when using social media. It’s also to make sure that the employees don’t engage any kind of behavior that may damage the status of the company.

NLRB or the National Labor Relation Board has made some laws about the policies related to the involvement of employer towards social media. Those cases are merely fact-specific. There is guidance for this matter:

•    First of all, employer policies shouldn’t restrict roughly some activities that have gained the protection by federal labor law. For examples are the discussion of working conditions and wages among employees.

•    Also, any comments made by employees on social media won’t be protected if they are only about insignificant matters.

Should an employee give in his social media ID and password when applying for a job?

Many states in the USA have ratified legislation to protect job applicants and employees from employees who ask them to give in both social ID and password. Those states Maryland, Illinois, New Jersey, Michigan, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Oregon, and many others. It just doesn’t seem right to take out the privacy from others.

7. Video Observation

Is it legal for employers to observe using a video in the workplace?

It’s likely yes. Video observation and monitoring is a particular method of finding out theft, monitoring employees, and securing zones. For instance, a public place may use video surveillance to detect or gather evidence on any bad acts. A company can also use this method to increase the security measure among employees.

Actually, employers are able to use it to monitor the productivity of employee as well as to prevent theft among employees. There’s no federal law that prevent this kind of act even when the employees don’t know being observed by their boss.

Are there conditions where video camera monitoring is prohibited?

In some cases, courts have stood up for the privacy of employees. It means that video monitoring will be considered as an invasion to privacy. It’s to prevent the misuse of video monitoring such as to monitor a bathroom or locker room.

Some laws made by states may also have the restrictions on how, where, and why employers are allowed to monitor their employees using hidden cameras. There’s a negotiation made by labor unions about video monitoring limitation of workers. The members of the union should talk to a representative if they have discomfort about video monitoring in their workplace.

What about audio surveillance?

Basically, video cameras that have a feature of an audio recording will be the concern of eavesdropping and wiretap laws. Actually, federal laws have no restriction against phone conversation recording as long as there’s a party knowing this situation. Most states also develop this law into further scope. There are 12 states that have enacted laws associated with audio surveillance. When recording the conversation, all parties should know about this wiretapping. You can find more details about it on the internet.

8. Supplementary Cases

Are promises made by employers about privacy issues in the workplace has a legal binding?

It’s hard to decide. Naturally, employers who state a policy of workplace issues, including privacy cases, it has a legal binding. Well, the employers can communicate such kind of policy in many ways such as union contracts, memos, or even mere handbooks. For instance, if there’s an employee makes a policy that employee will get a notification about video and audio monitoring activities.

Can employers utilize a GPS to track employees?

Employers may use GPS to find out their vehicles and employees during the work. The law about this act is evolving significantly. In fact, some employers will use any equipment to track the location of their employees, including a cellular device. You can learn more about GPS in the workplace through the internet.

Are there any reliable organizations that aids employees associated with workplace privacy?

Of course, there are some groups that can help the employees regarding workplace privacy. They actively involve in this kind of issue and they have strong regulation to support employees’ privacy in the workplace.


All these details should always be taken into consideration but keeping it all in your head can just give you a headache. The simplest and most convenient way to help employers to keep productivity level high in their company is surely technological. There is a full variety of programs out there which can help to keep track of office employees’ activity in the workplace. There are even those that are developed specifically for employee monitoring – easy to use and full of useful features. But even in this case to save yourself the trouble of doubting legality of installing this program even on the PC that your own it is better to just tell employees that they are being monitored. Because sometimes even simply telling can be enough to boost productivity.