员工监控 – 你真的是被监视!

这是很可能正在被人阅读你的电子邮件,或者你的电话正被某人听或可能有人跟踪您使用互联网。不,这是不是有些外国间谍。它甚至不是你的前妻。这是你的雇主。她甚至没有告诉你,她是做什么的。
雇主能够监视工人合法,在他们喜欢的任何方式。他们能够登录并检查他们是否拥有计算机的计算机活动。跟踪互联网的使用是监控员工的最常用的方法。根据这是由在ePolicy协会和美国管理协会公布的调查显示66%的企业监视员工的上网活动。什么是该公司寻找?他们寻找在上班时间经常访问游戏网站,色情网站,和社交网络如Facebook。谁监督员工的人,大约有三分之一的人说,他们已经解雇了员工的不当网上冲浪。
一些公司监控员工,通过跟踪键盘输入,阅读电子邮件和通过审查,以确保他们是住忠于自己的计算机上的文件。商业秘密和机密信息的泄漏是雇主的正当关切。许多雇主将投入的精力很大的量,以确保员工不使用公司的电脑进行信息传递到外部来源。

Employee monitoring

它是如何做?

大多用人单位使用的是直接装在员工的工作站,一些软件。有些应用程序,如Websense的企业5.1用于监控整个企业网络的流量。很多软件都可以,可以由个人或者公司很容易买到。如斯佩克特临的程序能够存储键击和POP和SMTP会话,即时消息,截图,哪些是参观了个人计算机上显示的URL日志。
只有2个州,​​康涅狄格州和特拉华州,在那里雇主必须通知监控他们的员工。不过,大部分雇主都提醒有关监督自己的员工。它是为了避免其包围在工作场所员工的电子隐私伦理和法律界限。约83%的雇主,谁说,他们监控的员工说,他们做的通知,他们正在监控的员工。
但是,并非所有的公司都告知自己的员工。 2006年,惠普公司聘请了私家侦探,以找出信息泄露的源头。法律手段,使用了他们像发送含有隐藏的软件,用于跟踪一些假冒的电子邮件,通过垃圾挖掘和尾矿那些谁沟通与惠普员工的记者。但是,他们越过边界合法使用pretexting,或冒充他人获得电话记录。作为惠普的结果,主席和6个董事会成员献出了自己辞职或者被罚款。这整个事件带来的监视员工石灰光的问题。电子邮件监控显得尤为棘手。雇主可以看到旧的电子邮件。然而监控电子邮件的实时在法律上是一个灰色地带。

你怎么知道?

如果您使用的是由贵公司拥有一台电脑,很可能你正被监视。除非你使用的是加密的电子邮件,最好避免使用的工作电子邮件的私人信件。如果这是不可行的,那么你应该现实之前,你的所有电子邮件发送给其他人,并认为如何,老板将她的情况下发生反应或他读它。
在大多数的情况下,你将能够检测监控软件中的相同的方式,你能够检测其他间谍软件。应用程序防火墙的喜欢的McAfee或Norton能够检测计算机上的未经授权的应用程序。如果你的雇主正在监视你,它很可能是IT部门安装了监控应用程序,他们已经建立了规则,以允许应用程序,以保持与防火墙工作时,它仍然是不可见的背景。一些反间谍软件都能够检测和删除按键记录程序。如果你喜欢安装了反间谍V□的一些程序,你大概能知道你是否被监视。
如果间谍软件扫描未显示任何东西,你还有怀疑,你可以看看你的计算机上运行的可疑的进程。可能很难淘汰正常流程从外国的,除非侵入性的程序使得一些明显的流程或文件夹。一些监控软件如优秀键盘记录的,使用rootkit技术,这将导致在你不连看到它的文件或进程。为了看到这是在计算机上运行的进程的列表中,您应检查任务管理器,您可以通过按Ctrl访问 – Alt键 – 德尔你可能只是很幸运的情况下,你都相当熟悉计算机的过程,或者如果程序使用一些明显的名称。
如果你发现自己被监视,您可以再次采取法律行动的雇主。 ECPA(电子通讯隐私法案1986年)给出了唯一的法律限制监视在工作场所。它禁止雇主刻意秘密监听的个人谈话。 ECPA不保护任何类型的通信,除了所说的话,这样的你,包括个人电子邮件的所有行动最有可能受到雇主的审查。

其他地方,你正在观看:

许多公司前,甚至雇用,谷歌员工,以对个人生活的检查后。你的爱好,地址,犯罪记录和信用报告可以在网上看到。根据2007年AMA调查显示,约12%的公司监控博客为了看的东西被写关于他们和另外10%的显示器不同的社交网络。这是常识,你不要张贴在互联网上任何事情,你不希望你的老板看到的。
雇员的监视不局限于其工作站和互联网。雇主的45%监督所花费的时间,并呼吁通过公司电话的员工和大约16%的记录电话交谈的数量。大约9%的员工监控员工的语音邮件。大多数雇主的通知电话的员工(约84%)和语音邮件(约73%)监察。它要求ECPA的雇主不监督电话这是个人的,而是为了要对安全起见,最好使用手机。
大约48%的公司,用于视频监控作为反暴力,破坏和盗窃措施调查。但只有约7%的公司中使用的视频监控,以便跟踪雇员的性能。大部分的雇主约78%通知防盗视频监控他们的员工。同样,用人单位89%,通知其雇员有关的视频监控与性能。
谁使用GPS跟踪员工的去向那些雇主在小数字。仅约8%的雇主的GPS跟踪公司车辆和大约3%使用的全球定位系统用于监视手机。雇主的小于1%的GPS为了监视雇员智能卡/标识。

Employee Monitoring – you really are being watched!

, ,

It is quite possible that your emails are being read by someone, or your phone calls are being listened to by someone or someone might be tracking your use of internet. No, it is not some foreign spy. It is not even your ex. It is your employer. She does not even have to tell you that she is doing it.
The employers are able to monitor the workers legally, in whatever way they like. They are able to login and review the computer activity if they own the computer. Tracking internet use is the most common method of monitoring employees. According to the survey which was released by the ePolicy Institute and American Management Association 66% of the companies monitor the internet activities of their employees. What are the companies looking for? They look for frequent visits to game sites, sexually explicit websites, and social networks such as Facebook during the office time. About one third of the people who monitored their employees said that they had fired an employee for surfing the web inappropriately.
Some of the companies monitor their employees, by tracking keystrokes, by reading emails and by reviewing files on their computer in order to make sure that they are staying loyal. The leaks of trade secrets and confidential information are legitimate concerns of the employers. Many employers will put great amount of effort in order to ensure that the employees are not using the computers of the company for passing information to the outside sources.

Employee monitoring

How is it done?

Mostly the employers use some software which is directly loaded on the workstations of employees. Some applications, like Websense Enterprise 5.1 are used to monitor entire enterprises internet traffic. Many software’s are available which can be easily purchased by individuals or companies. The programs like the Spector Pro are able to store logs of the Keystrokes and POP and SMTP session, instant messages, screenshots and the URLs which are visited on the individual computers.
There are only 2 states, Connecticut and Delaware, where employers are required to notify their employees of the monitoring. But most of the employers do alert their employees regarding surveillance. It is to avoid ethical and the legal boundaries which surround the electronic privacy of employees in workplace. About 83% of the employers, who said that they monitor the employees, said that they do inform the employees that they are being monitored.
But not all companies inform their employees. In 2006, Hewlett Packard hired some private investigators in order to find source of the information leaks. Legal tactics were used by them like sending some fake emails which contained hidden software for tracking, digging through the trash and tailing those journalists who communicated with the HP employees. But they crossed legal boundary by using pretexting, or by posing as another person to get the phone records. As a result Chairman of the HP and 6 board members gave their resignations or they were fined. This whole incident brought the issue of monitoring employees to lime light. Email monitoring is particularly tricky. The employers can see the old email. However monitoring the emails in the real time is legally a grey area.

How do you know?

In case you are using a computer which is owned by your company, it is likely that you are being monitored. Unless you are using the encrypted email, it is better that you avoid using the work email for the personal correspondence. In case it is not doable, then you should real all emails before you send to someone else, and think that how the boss will react in case she or he reads it.
In most of the cases you will be able to detect the monitoring software in the same way as you are able to detect other spyware. The application firewall’s like McAfee or Norton are able to detect unauthorized applications on the computer. In case your employer is monitoring you, it is likely that the IT department installed monitoring application and they have set up the rules in order to allow application to keep working with the firewall while it remains invisible in background. Some of the antispyware programs are able to detect and remove key loggers. In case you install some program like the Counter Spy V@, you will probably be able to know if you are being monitored.
In case spyware scan is not showing anything and you still have suspicion, you can look for the suspicious processes running on your computer. It can be hard weeding out normal processes from foreign ones, unless invasive program makes some obvious process or folder. Some of the monitoring software such as Elite Keylogger, use rootkit techniques which will result in you not even seeing its files or processes. In order to see list of the processes which are running on the computer, you should check the task manager which you can access by hitting Ctrl – Alt – Del. You might just get lucky in case you are quite familiar with the process of your computer, or if program uses some obvious name.
In case you find out that you are being monitored, you may be able to take the legal actions again the employer. ECPA (Electronic Communication Privacy Act 1986) gives the only legal limits for surveillance in the work place. It prohibits the employer from deliberately secretly listening the personal conversations. ECPA doesn’t protect any type of communications except spoken words, so all actions of yours including personal emails are most likely subjected to the review by the employer.

Other places where you are being watched:

Many companies before and even after hiring, Google their employees in order to have a check on personal lives. Your hobbies, address, criminal history and credit reports can be seen online. According to 2007 AMA survey, about 12% companies monitor blogosphere in order to look at the stuff being written about them and another 10% monitor different social networks. It is common sense that you do not post anything on internet which you would not like your employer to see.
The monitoring of employees is not restricted to their workstations and the internet. 45% of the employers monitor the time spent and the number called by employees on the company phone and about 16% record the phone conversations. About 9% of the employees monitor the voicemail messages of their employees. Most of employers notify their employees of the phone (about 84%) and the voice mails (about 73%) monitoring. It is required by ECPA that the employers do not monitor the phone calls which are personal, but in order to be on safe side, it is better to use cell phone.
Approximately 48% companies which were surveys used video monitoring as counter violence, sabotage and theft measure. But only about 7% companies used the video surveillance in order to track the performance of the employees. Most of the employers about 78% notify their employees of the antitheft video surveillance. Similarly 89% of the employers notify their employees about the video monitoring related to performance.
Those employers who use the GPS for tracking the whereabouts of the employees are in small numbers. Only about 8% of the employers GPS for tracking the company vehicles and about 3% used the GPS for monitoring the cell phones. Less than 1% of the employers used GPS in order to monitor the employee Smartcards/ID.