12件事情你应该知道的键盘记录器

键盘记录程序是一个软件或硬件,记录用户活动 – 按键,鼠标移动和点击等。
事1
在键盘记录器的主要思路和目标是应用到从按键在屏幕上显示出来的信号回路双任何联系 – 这可能是键盘本身的硬件“臭虫”,在电缆或在计算机系统单元,视频监视,输入输出请求拦截,系统的键盘驱动程序,驱动程序过滤器离子键盘堆栈,内核函数截取以任何方式替代(改变系统表,功能码拼接等地址),DLL函数拦截在用户模式下,最后采用典型的记录方式的键盘查询。
事2
但实践表明,越是困难的方法时,在广泛的木马恶意软件不太可能它的使用,而更可能它的使用在目标木马窃取企业,个人,金融及机密信息。

keylogger

事3

的信息的类型,可以被控制

击键
鼠标的移动和点击
日期及加压时间

此外,还可以定期截图(有时 – 屏幕录像)和数据复制从剪贴板。
分类

事4
按类型

键盘记录程序属于该组的控制PC上用户活动的软件产品。最初,这种类型的软件产品是仅用于记录有关的按键,包括系统的,特殊的日志文件,后来进行了研究谁安装此程序的人的信息。日志文件可以被发送到网络的光盘,在互联网的FTP服务器,通过电子邮件等

如今的软件产品,保留了这个名字,执行很多附加功能 – 拦截窗口数据,鼠标点击,剪贴板,使得画面和活动窗口的截图,保存记录所有接收和发送的电子邮件,监视文件活动,并与系统注册表工作,记录任务发送到打印机,拦截来自网络摄像头在麦克风和视频声音的,连接到PC等

硬件键盘记录器是可以由键盘和计算机之间或键盘内部安装微型设备。它们记录键盘所有的击键。记录处理是为最终用户绝对不可见。硬件键盘记录器不需要安装在计算机上的应用程序成功地拦截所有按键。当一个硬件键盘记录软件安装,不要紧的计算机是否打开或关闭。

hardware keyloggers

他的工作时间没有限制的,因为它不需要额外的动力源来工作。这些设备的内部非易失性内存容量可录制高达20万按键与Unicode支持。

这些装置可以以任何形式进行,因此,即使一个专家有时无法确定他们的信息审计期间存在。

根据安装的地方,键盘记录器被分成内部和外部。

音响键盘记录程序是硬件设备的第一个记录声音当中,由用户创建的同时按下键盘上的按键,然后分析这些声音,并将其转换成文本格式

事5
通过日志文件存储位置

硬盘
内存
注册表
本地网络
远程服务器
基于云计算的平台,最流行的程序,按键记录软件是Spyrix键盘记录器,在这里阅读更多

Spyrix Personal Monitor

事6
通过日志文件发送方法

电子邮件
FTP或HTTP(在因特网或本地网络)
无线连接的任何变种(无线电波段,红外线,蓝牙,WiFi和其它变体在紧邻或先进系统设备,克服了空气间隙和数据泄露的物理隔离系统)

事7
按使用方法

键盘记录器的使用仅方法(包括硬件和软件产品,键盘记录器作为一个模块)可以看到安全控制和安全性侵犯之间的区别。

未经授权使用 – 键盘记录器安装(包括硬件或软件产品的一个键盘记录为一个模块)是在没有自动化系统所有者(安全管理员)或特定PC的拥有者的知识。

未经授权的按键记录器(硬件或软件)被称为间谍软件或间谍工具。

未经授权而使用通常是与违法活动有关。一般情况下,非法安装的间谍软件具有的配置和取得不显示任何消息和安装过程中不会在屏幕上创建的窗口,并且也有内置的资源交付和远程安装配置模块上的用户准备的可执行文件的能力计算机,即在安装过程中发生,不会对用户的PC的直接物理访问,通常不要求系统管理员权限。

授权使用 – 键盘记录器安装(包括硬件或软件产品的一个键盘记录为一个模块)发生与自动化系统所有者(安全管理员)或特定PC的拥有者的知识。

一般来说,合法安装的软件所需的配置和安装在用户PC和管理员权限的物理访问。

事8
通过包括签名基地

已知的键盘记录程序的签名已经包括著名的反间谍软件签名基地和杀毒软件开发商

未知的键盘记录器,没有自己的基地特征,往往是从不包含有各种原因:

键盘记录器(模块),在各政府机构的保护开发;
按键记录器(模块),可以通过各种闭源操作系统的开发者创建和被包括在系统的内核。
对有关重要信息从用户的PC(例如使用专业的诈骗软件)盗窃特定用途的限量版开发的键盘记录器(通常是一个或几个副本)。这种间谍软件可能暗示了一点改变键盘记录器的开源代码,取自互联网,并通过欺骗自己,这允许改变一个键盘记录的签名编译;
商业,特别是包括在模块的企业软件都很少加入到著名的反间谍软件和防病毒软件开发者的签名基地。这导致当通过在因特网欺诈出版软件的全功能版本被转换成不被反间谍软件和防病毒软件检测的间谍软件的情况;
键盘记录器的模块包含在病毒应用程序的击键截取用户的计算机上。之前,包括病毒库特征码的数据,这些模块仍下落不明。作为一个例子 – 著名的病毒引起了很大的麻烦最近,它具有击键拦截模块,并在互联网上发送接收到的数据。

使用目的

事9

授权使用键盘记录器(包括硬件和软件产品,键盘记录器作为一个模块)的允许自动化系统所有者(安全管理员)或特定PC以下的所有者:

识别输入关键的单词和短语,其转让给第三方,将导致财产损失的情况;
获得访问计算机上的信息的可能性是硬盘驱动器的情况下,登录名和密码丢失任何原因(员工生病,工作人员的故意行为等);
识别(定位)的密码搜索所有的尝试;
控制使用的空闲时间的计算机和找出什么打字,在此期间在键盘上的可能性;
调查计算机事故;
开展有关工作人员的响应精度,效率和充分性,以外部冲击的决心科学研究;
恢复电脑系统出现故障后的重要信息。

使用模块,键盘记录允许商业软件开发商:

创建快速词搜索系统(电子词典,电子翻译);
创造了快速搜索的名称,组织机构,地址(电子电话簿)的应用程序。

未经授权使用键盘记录器(包括硬件和软件产品,键盘记录器作为一个模块)的允许欺诈:

拦截输入的键盘由用户信息;
获得未经授权的访问登录信息的各种系统,包括银行和客户类型的系统;
获得未经授权的访问用户数据加密保护系统 – 密码短语;
获得未经授权的访问,以信用卡信息。

键盘记录程序的原则

事10

标准键盘陷阱

一般来说,有键盘记录器实现巨大的变种;然而,所有的人都有工作的一个共同的原则 – 渗透于从按键在屏幕上显示出来的信号链。实现最常见的变体是带键盘的陷阱一个键盘记录。键盘钩子读取硬件输入的系统队列中的csrss.exe系统进程信息。

这种方法获得的特定的普及,由于这一事实,即一个过滤器捕集允许拦截绝对所有击键因为钩子控制所有的系统流动。而且,这样的间谍软件创建不需要任何特殊的知识,除了Visual C ++或Delphi和Win32API的。然而,这种方法需要创建DLL动态库。

定期键盘状态查询

一个原始的方法意味着高速循环的键​​盘状态查询。这种方法不需要在GUI的进程执行的DLL;作为结果的间谍是不太明显。

这种类型的键盘记录器的缺点是高速周期性键盘状态查询的需要,至少每秒10-20查询。此方法用于由几个商业产品。

基于驱动程序的键盘记录

此方法能更有效地与上述比较。有此方法的至少两个变体实现 – 创建和安装的自己的键盘驱动程序而不是标准的驱动器的驱动器,过滤器或安装的。该方法(以及陷阱)是击键跟踪的记录方法。

事11

间谍的rootkit

无论是在用户模式和内核模式一个可以实现。在用户模式键盘输入的跟踪,可以实现在csrss.exe的过程拦截由键盘驱动程序或使用的API的功能,如的GetMessage和的PeekMessage跟踪。在很多情况下,即使屏幕上的键盘,这通常被认为从任何键盘记录软件是万能的,没有从rootkit的键盘记录软件保护。
硬件键盘记录器

事12

要搜索您的家用电脑上的键盘记录器就足够,以确保在没有键盘记录程序。但是,在企业环境中,特别是用于银行交易,电子交易的计算机上,并用于执行与机密文件的处理相关联的任务,有使用硬件的击键截取的危险。

hardware keyloggers

让我们来看看信息泄露的主要渠道中的硬件使用条件。
在键盘1.硬件选项卡

在任何键盘通常有许多空洞的足够放置一个小电路板尺寸。设备电源,数据传输可以通过直接连接到键盘控制器的印刷电路卡来完成。硬件选项卡可以手动或通过工业安装

解决方案:键盘开启和检查外国电子元器件的进一步键盘使用贴纸密封的存在。
由非接触式方法,将键盘电缆2.读取数据

该方法通过非接触式传感器设数据的读取。这种设备安装不需要在电缆差距键盘开放和安装任何设备。非接触式硬件键盘记录应该是自供电,它的建设应该是比情况下直接连接的更加复杂。在外观上,这样的设备可能看起来像电缆可拆卸的噪声滤波器。

解决方案:非接触式阅读是最有效的方法放置时,传感器在靠近键盘电缆(甚至更好 – 在电缆上),这就是为什么,检查工作场所时,请确保有不明无异物目的靠近键盘电缆,或直接就可以了。
3.设备安装电缆差距

这种类型的键盘记录器是最常见的它们很容易被安装和检测。硬件键盘记录被执行作为一个小型装置,其被插入在PS / 2或计算机的USB端口和一个键盘插入在键盘记录体的插座。要执行这样没有技能是必需的操作,而且,键盘记录器连接到USB-键盘可以在不关闭计算机来完成。

硬件键盘记录五月看起来像一个噪声滤波器或适配器。该装置由用来滤除噪声和保护设备防止过电压,有用于存储所收集的信息的低功率消耗和闪存存储器的微控制器的输入电路。闪存容量各不相同,从32 KB到几十兆;典型的量 – 从128 KB到2 MB。

解决方法:定期检查工作场所中的键盘线插入缝隙未经授权的设备的存在。键盘插头很容易保护,贴纸,去除插座上的插头时打破。

usb keylogger

如何使用USB键盘记录器 – 看一下视频:

该系统单元内4.硬件选项卡

参阅动作的原理,这个间谍不从类型1和3的设备的不同,但位于系统单元内。它只能通过一个专门的安装,而且它需要打开单元壳体。

解决方法:使用贴纸系统单元密封。但在此之前,有必要检查系统单元的内容,并确保没有任何外部设备(典型连接的地方 – 主板连接平行于键盘插座)
5.信息读取基于声学和电磁发射的分析

为了赶上键盘的电磁发射的距离是困难的(虽然理论上是可能的),但要赶上噪声要容易得多。甚至在电话交谈时,有时你可以清楚地听到键盘上的对话者打字。研究在安全领域表明每个键,按下时,产生特定的声音,这允许标识密钥。最有名的这方面的工作是由加州大学伯克利分校的科学家,谁前来,在60〜96%的输入的字符常见的音频录制,可以确认的结论。

无需使用专门的分析软件,可以简单地检测在一个口令键入的字符的数量和重复字符的存在。

解决方法:要防止声学信号分析信息泄露的主要途径是一个连续的,系统的工作人员指示。

12 Things you should know about Keyloggers

Keylogger is a software or hardware which records user activities – keystrokes, mouse movement and clicks, etc.

Thing 1

The keylogger’s main idea and aim is to apply into two any links in the signal circuit from the key pressing to displaying it on the screen – this can be hardware “bugs” in the keyboard itself, in the cable or in computer system unit, video surveillance, input-output requests interception, substitution of system keyboard driver, driver-filters ion keyboard stack, kernel functions interception by any method (changing addresses in system tables, function code splicing, etc), DLL functions interception in user mode and, finally, keyboard inquiry using typical documented way.

Thing 2

But practice shows that the more difficult method is used, the less likely its usage in widespread Trojan malware and more likely its usage in target Trojans to steal corporate, personal, financial and confidential information.

keylogger

Thing 3

Types of information that can be controlled

  • keystrokes
  • mouse movement and clicks
  • date and time of pressing

Additionally, there can be periodic screenshots (sometimes – screen video) and data copying from the clipboard.

Classification

Thing 4

By type

Program keyloggers belong to the group of software products that control user activity on PC. Initially software products of this type were intended solely for recording information about keystrokes, including system ones, to special log-file that later was studied by a person who installed this program. Log-file could be sent to a network disc, FTP-server in the Internet, via email, etc.

Nowadays software products, retained this name, perform many additional functions – interception of windows data, mouse clicks, clipboard, making screenshots of the screen and active windows, keeping records of all received and sent emails, monitoring files activity and work with system registry, record tasks sent to the printer, interception of sound from the microphone and video from the web camera, connected to the PC, etc.

Hardware keyloggers are miniature devices that can be installed between a keyboard and a computer or inside the keyboard. They record all keystrokes from the keyboard. Recording process is absolutely invisible for an end user. Hardware keyloggers do not require installation an application on the computer to successfully intercept all keystrokes. When a hardware keylogger is mounted, it does not matter whether the computer is turned on or off.

hardware keyloggers

Time of his work is not limited, as it does not require additional power source for its operation. Internal non-volatile memory capacity of such devices allows recording up to 20 million keystrokes with Unicode support.

These devices may be made in any form, so that even an expert sometimes is unable to determine their presence during the information audit.

Depending on the place of installation, keyloggers are divided into internal and external.

Acoustic keyloggers are hardware devices which first record sounds, created by the user while pressing keyboard keys and then analyze these sounds and convert them into the text format

Thing 5

By log-file storage location

  • HDD
  • RAM
  • registry
  • local network
  • remote server
  • cloud-based platform, the most popular program-keylogger is Spyrix keylogger, read more here

Spyrix Personal Monitor

Thing 6

By log-file sending method

  • Email
  • FTP or HTTP (in the Internet or local network)
  • Any variant of wireless connection (radio band, IrDA, Bluetooth, WiFI, and other variants for devices in immediate proximity or in advanced systems, to overcome the air gap and data leakage from physically isolated systems)

Thing 7

By method of usage

Only the method of keylogger usage (including hardware or software products with a keylogger as a module) allows seeing the distinction between security control and security violation.

Unauthorized use – keylogger installation (including hardware or software products with a keylogger as a module) takes place without the knowledge of the automated system owner (security administrator) or the owner of a particular PC.

Unauthorized keyloggers (software or hardware) are called spyware or spy gadgets.

Unauthorized use is usually associated with illegal activities. Generally, illegally installed spyware have the ability of configuration and obtaining ready executable files that does not display any messages and does not create windows on the screen during installation, and also have built-in resources for delivery and remote installation of configured module on the user’s computer, that is the installation process takes place without direct physical access to the user’s PC and often does not require system administrator rights.

Authorized use – keylogger installation (including hardware or software products with a keylogger as a module) takes place with the knowledge of the automated system owner (security administrator) or the owner of a particular PC.

Generally, legally installed software requires physical access to the user PC and administrator rights for configuration and installation.

Thing 8

By including signature bases

Signatures of known keyloggers are already included to the signature bases of famous antispyware and antivirus software developers

Unknown keyloggers, that do not have their signatures in bases, are often never included there for various reasons:

  • keyloggers (modules), developed under the protection of various government agencies;
  • keyloggers (modules) that can be created by the developers of various closed-source operating systems and be included in the system’s kernel.
  • keyloggers developed in limited edition (often in one or several copies) for a particular purpose related to the theft of critical information from the user’s PC (e.g. software used by professional frauds). Such spyware may imply a bit changed open-source codes of keyloggers, taken from the Internet, and be compiled by a fraud himself, that allows changing a keylogger‘s signature;
  • commercial, especially included as modules to corporate software that are very seldom added to the signature bases of famous antispyware and antivirus software developers. This leads to the situation when the fully functional version of the software published by a fraud in the Internet is converted to the spyware which is not detected by antispyware and antivirus software;
  • keyloggers as modules included in virus applications for keystrokes interception on the user’s computer. Before including signature data in virus database these modules remain unknown. As an example – well-known viruses caused much troubles recently, which had a module of keystrokes interception and sending received data in the Internet.

Purpose of use

Thing 9

Authorized use of keyloggers (including hardware or software products with a keylogger as a module) allows the automated system owner (security administrator) or the owner of a particular PC the following:

  • identifying all cases of typing critical words and phrases whose transferring to third parties will result in property damage;
  • a possibility of getting access to the information on the computer’s hard drive in case of login and password loss for any reason (employee illness, intentional actions of staff, etc);
  • identifying (locating) all attempts of passwords searching;
  • controlling a possibility of using computers in free time and finding out what was typing on the keyboard during this period;
  • investigating computer incidents;
  • carrying out scientific researches related to the determination of staff response accuracy, efficiency and adequacy to external impacts;
  • restoring critical information after computer systems failure.

Using modules with a keylogger allows developers of commercial software:

  • creating systems of quick words search (electronic dictionaries, electronic translators);
  • creating applications for quick search of names, organizations, addresses (electronic phone books).

Unauthorized use of keyloggers (including hardware or software products with a keylogger as a module) allows a fraud:

  • intercepting information typed on the keyboard by the user;
  • getting unauthorized access to login information for various systems including bank-client type systems;
  • getting unauthorized access to the systems of user data cryptographic protection – password phrases;
  • getting unauthorized access to credit cards information.

Keylogger principles

Thing 10

Standard keyboard trap

Generally, there are enormous variants of keylogger realization; however all of them have one common principle of the work – penetration in the signal chain from the key pressing to displaying it on the screen. The most common variant of realization is a keylogger with a keyboard trap. Keyboard hooks read information from a system queue of hardware input that is in csrss.exe system process.

This method gained particular popularity due to the fact that a filter trap allows intercepting absolutely all keystrokes because the hook controls all system flows. Also, such spyware creation does not require any special knowledge, except Visual C++ or Delphi and Win32API. However, such method requires creating DLL dynamic library.

Periodic keyboard status inquiry

A primitive method implying a cyclic keyboard status inquiry at a high speed. Such method does not require implementation of DLL in GUI-processes; as a result a spyware is less noticeable.

The disadvantage of this type of keyloggers is the need of periodical keyboard status inquiry at a high speed, at least 10-20 inquiries per second. This method is used by several commercial products.

Driver-based keylogger

This method is more effective in comparison with the above described. There are at least two realization variants of this method – creation and installation of the own keyboard driver instead of the standard driver or installation of a driver-filter. This method (as well as a trap) is a documented method of keystrokes tracking.

Thing 11

Spy-rootkit

Can be realized both in UserMode and in a KernelMode. In UserMode keyboard input tracking can be realized in csrss.exe process interception by keyboard driver or using tracking of API-functions like GetMessage and PeekMessage. In many cases, even the on-screen keyboard, which is often considered a panacea from any keylogger, does not protect from rootkit-keylogger.

Hardware keyloggers

Thing 12

To search for keyloggers on your home computer it is enough to be sure in absence of keylogger applications. However, in a corporate environment, in particular on computers for bank transactions, electronic trading and for performing tasks associated with the processing of confidential documents, there is a risk of usage hardware for keystrokes interception.

hardware keyloggers

Let’s have a look at the main channels of information leakage in terms of the hardware use.

1. Hardware tab in the keyboard

In any keyboard there are usually lots of cavities with the size enough for placing a small board. Device power and data transferring can be done by direct connection to the printed circuit card of a keyboard controller. Hardware tab can be installed manually or by industrially

Solution: keyboard opening and checking for the presence of foreign electronic components with the further keyboard sealing using sticker.

2. Reading data from the keyboard cable by contactless method

This method supposes data reading by contactless sensor. Such device installation does not require keyboard opening and mounting any equipment in the cable gap. Contactless hardware keylogger should be self-powered and its construction supposed to be more complex than in case of direct connection. In appearance, such device may looks like a removable noise filter for the cable.

Solution: contactless reading is the most effective method when placing the sensor in the close proximity to the keyboard cable (or even better – around the cable), that is why, when inspecting work places, make sure that there are no foreign objects of unknown purpose near the keyboard cable or directly on it.

3. Device installation to the cable gap

Keyloggers of this type are the most common they are easy to be installed and detected. Hardware keylogger is performed as a small device, which is inserted in the PS / 2- or USB port of the computer and a keyboard is inserted in the socket on the keylogger body. To perform such an operation no skill is required, and besides, keylogger connection to the USB- keyboard can be done without shutting down the computer.

Hardware keylogger may looks like a noise filter or adapter. The device consists of the input circuits intended to filter noise and protect the device against over-voltage, a microcontroller with a low power consumption and Flash-memory for storing the collected information. Flash-memory volume varies from 32 KB to dozens of megabytes; the typical amount – from 128 KB to 2 MB.

Solution: periodic inspection of the workplace for the presence of unauthorized devices inserted in the keyboard cable gap. The keyboard plug is quite easy protected with the sticker, which breaks when removing the plug from the socket.

usb keylogger

How to use USB keylogger – see video about it:

4. Hardware tab inside the system unit

Refer to the principle of action, this spy does not differ from the devices of types 1 and 3, but is located inside the system unit. It can be installed only by a specialist, and it will require opening the unit case.

Solution: system unit sealing using the stickers. But before, it is necessary to inspect the system unit contents and make sure there are no foreign devices (typical connection place – the motherboard. Connection is parallel to the keyboard socket)

5. Information reading based on the analysis of acoustic and electromagnetic emitting

To catch keyboard electromagnetic emitting at a distance is difficult (although theoretically is possible), but to catch acoustic noise is much easier. Even when talking on the phone you can sometimes clearly hear your interlocutor typing on the keyboard. Studies in the security sphere show that each key, when pressed, produces a specific sound, which allows identifying the key. The most famous work in this area was made by UC Berkeley scientists, who came to the conclusion that in common audio recording from 60 to 96% of input characters can be recognized.

Without the use of specialized analysis software, you can simply detect the number of typed characters in a password and the presence of repeated characters.

Solution: the main way to protect against information leakage by acoustic signals analyzing is a continuous and systematic staff instructing.